Date :  
News on date : Monday, 19 November, 2018

  HOME   About Us | Dehradun | Utt

    HOME   About Us | Dehradun | Uttarakhand | Interview | Editorial | Sports | Gupshup | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise

State News Details
Swami Chidanand gets Surya Ratna Award
By OUR STAFF REPORTER | Sun, 09 -Feb, 2014

Rishikesh, 8 Feb: Swami Chidanand Saraswati, the President of the Parmarth Niketan Ashram, Rishikesh has received two lifetime awards in the past 3 days, including the Surya Ratna Award.
Last evening in Pune, the Swami received the ‘Surya Ratna’ lifetime achievement award, conferred by Uttarakhand Governor Dr Aziz Qureshi, Dr RA Mashelkar, CSIR Bhatnagar Fellow & President, Global Research Alliance and Prof Dr Sanjay B Chordiya, Founder and President of Suryadatta Group of Institutes, at Suryadatta’s Campus. The honour was given to Chidanand for ‘Excellence in Innovative Spirituality’and service to Humanity and the Environment.
The award was conferred on the occasion of the "Suryadatta Annual Celebrations - Suryotsav", a week-long celebration of excellence in academia, athletics, and culture held every year to commemorate the achievements and contributions of exceptional individuals. Nearly 5,000 dignitaries and students participated in the ceremony.
Swami Chidanand said on the occasion, "The point of life is not to win medals. Of course, medals are nice, but the point of life is to be a model - of integrity, seva, tenacity and selflessness. These days everyone is focused on filling their shelves with more and more possessions, and while the shelves are getting fuller the self is getting emptier."
Others honoured with the Suryadatta Lifetime National Award this year included Ustad Amjad Ali Khan, Bhavarlaji Jain, founder Chairman, Jain Irrigation Systems, the late Dr KB Grant, founder of Ruby Hall Clinic, Pune, Neela Satyanarayana, State Election Commissioner, Anup Jalota, etc.
Earlier this week, Swami Chidanand received the Ambassador of Peace Award at a function organised by the United Nations Centre for India and Bhutan and the Universal Peace Federation. The award was presented by the Director of the United Nations Centre, Kiran Mehra-Kerpelman, and Dr Chung Sik Yong, UPF Chairman of Asia.

Related News
Post a Comment
Please fill the form for submitting your comments
Name : *  
Your E-mail : *  
City : *  
Comment : *  

( * ) denotes mandatory fields

Select Date
Home|  About Us | Dehradun | Utt

    Home About Us | Dehradun | Uttarakhand | Interview | Editorial | Sports | Gupshup | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise

All Copyrights Reserved : Garhwal Post Powered By : Webline