Home Dehradun Finance Minister PC Aggarwal represents state at 50th GST Council Meeting  

Finance Minister PC Aggarwal represents state at 50th GST Council Meeting  

By Our Staff Reporter 
Dehradun, 11 July: The 50th meeting of the GST Council was held, under the chairmanship of Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman. The State of Uttarakhand was represented in the meeting by Finance Minister Dr Prem Chand Aggarwal. In the meeting, detailed discussions were held on various subjects such as the subjects recommended by the Law Committee and the Fitment Committee.
In the meeting, the state has given exemption in filing the annual return for traders with annual turnover up to Rs. 2 crore for the year 2022-23, facility to give ITC on the difference between GSTR 3B and GSTR 2A for the year 2017-18 and as in the year 2018-19, subject to a certain limit, from April 01, 2019, to December 31, 2021. In the perspective of starting the proceedings related to the constitution of the GST Tribunal, the appointment of the Chairman and members of the Tribunal and the rules related to the terms of service were agreed upon.
Discussion was held on issuing clarification regarding tax rates and removal of certain anomalies under the recommendations made by the Fitment Committee, which was supported by the state.
Finance Minister Aggarwal expressed his heartfelt gratitude to Finance Minister, Government of India for paving the way for setting up of GST Tribunal for the settlement of GST disputes and GST Council was apprised that GST Tribunals have been set up in the State. The constitution of the state bench has been proposed in Dehradun.
In the matter of reimbursing units exempted from central excise duty by the State Government, it was informed by the Finance Minister that in case of reimbursement of the remaining 42 percent by the State Government, an additional financial burden of Rs. 2376 crore would be imposed on the State. The state will have to reimburse such an amount, which has not been received in the state treasury. In this perspective, he was informed about the above reimbursement not being possible from the state level.
The meeting was attended by Secretary Finance Dilip Jawalkar and Commissioner State Tax Dr Ahmed Iqbal and other departmental officers.