Home Dehradun MAMS Raiwala holds 15th Inter-School Art Competition virtually

MAMS Raiwala holds 15th Inter-School Art Competition virtually


By Our Staff Reporter

Dehradun, 29 Nov: Maa Anandmayee Memorial School, Raiwala, (MAMS), today, organised the 15th Inter-School Art Competition virtually over Zoom and live-streamed it on the MAMS Facebook page. The mega event saw 16 schools from Uttarakhand, Maharashtra and Punjab taking part.
The MAMS Art Competition is an annual event in the school’s co-curricular calendar, which has been successfully organised for the past one and a half decades. The aim is to spot, hone, and promote creativity and artistic skills of the students in their primary years by providing a platform to showcase their talent.
The Chief Guest and judge of the event was Aloke Tirtha Bhowmick (Dada), former Head of Art & Media Department of The Doon School, Dehradun. An accomplished artist, and art educationist, Bhowmick is an alumnus of Shantiniketan and President of Doon Art Society.
The virtual session commenced with a warm welcome note given by Arpit Panjwani, Director, Maa Anandmayee Memorial School. Panjwani pointed that for the last fourteen years this art competition for primary level students has been held at the school campus and they all missed the festivities it brought together. But, keeping in mind the Covid-19 pandemic this year’s event had to be organised virtually.
Bhowmick judged each and every art work minutely before declaring the results online. In his speech, he shed light on having a creative mind and the importance of art and music in life. Referring to Nobel Prize winner Rabindranath Tagore, Bhowmick pointed out that Tagore was of the view that, in students’ life, art and music are as important as Mathematics. He urged students to be creative as leaders in any field of life as those who are creative end up finding creative solutions to problems as well. He also motivated students to be original at the artwork and make whatever comes to their imagination rather than simply copying other people’s works.
The winners in Group A were Prakhar Dhoundiyal, Doon International School, Dehradun; Aanvi Sajwan, Doon International School; and Vedika, NDS, Rishikesh.
In Group B, the winners were Shivansh Ojha, Doon International School; Bhargav, Army Public School, Ambala Cantt; and Ayesha Negi, Doon International School.
The valedictory note was presented by Headmistress Amita Ohri, who lauded the talent and artistic skills of the participating students. Manisha Rajput was also present, virtually.