Home Dehradun National Geo-Research Scholars’ Meet begins at WIHG

National Geo-Research Scholars’ Meet begins at WIHG

Dehradun, 6 Jun: A three-day National Geo-Research Scholars’ Meet was inaugurated today by Chief Guest Anju Bhall, Joint Secretary, Department of Science and Technology, at the auditorium of the Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology, here.
The Director, WIHG, Dr Kalachand Sain, delivered the welcome speech in the presence of Dr Rajendra Dobhal, DG. UCOST. Also present were directors, senior scientists and young researchers gathered from Dehradun and various universities, IITs and scientific institutions from across the country. After this, Dr Rajesh Sharma, senior scientist and convener of the meet addressed the gathering and discussed the details and major themes – Geodynamic, geo-hazard, earthquake, natural resources, Climate Change and Glaciology. He also emphasised on the importance of such events in bridging gaps between society and academia.
Anju Bhall said science should work for mitigation and prevention of hazards and betterment of the climate.
Dr Rajendra Dobhal emphasised that scientists ought to work in close collaboration with the experts from varied fields including economists, sociologists, historians, academicians, etc., in order to better serve society.
Dr Ashutosh Sharma, Secretary, Department of Science and Technology, GoI, addressed the audience via Skype and highlighted the importance of organising such events where young researchers from all over the country can gather and interact on a common platform. He also expressed his concern regarding the natural resources of the Himalayas like snow and glaciers as ‘the third pole’. He expressed happiness that a Centre for Glaciology was being successfully run at WIHG. He gave emphasis to strengthening the infrastructure of important research institutions such as Centre for Glaciology and WIHG. He also suggested WIHG set up social media pages to popularise science.
At the end of inaugural session, Dr Sameer Tiwari, Convener of the Conference, proposed the vote of thanks.
The inaugural session was followed by two Technical Sessions. The first technical was chaired by Dr Permesh Banerjee and the second technical session by Padma Shri Dr VC Thakur. In these sessions, a total of 20 presentations related to Sesimo-tectonics, tectonics, earthquake modelling and geo-hazards in Himalaya were held.