Home Dehradun Paperless Trial Advocacy Competition held at Law College Dehradun

Paperless Trial Advocacy Competition held at Law College Dehradun



DEHRADUN, 6 Sep: Law College Dehradun, Uttaranchal University, organised the final round of the ‘Paperless Trial Advocacy Competition’ at its jam-packed Moot Court Hall. Secretary of the District Legal Services Authority, Neha Kushawaha, Civil Judge (Junior Division), was the judge on the occasion. The competition began at the Moot Court Hall. Participants were given a murder related imaginary problem. They had to simulate the entire judicial proceedings, which included witness examination as well as legal inspection of medical documents. The entire process was paperless. Participants and judges worked on laptops. Principal Dr Rajesh Bahuguna stated that 16 teams participated in the competition, which continued over twelve days. The purpose of trial advocacy was to equip the students with the latest technology. University Chancellor Jitender Joshi observed that paperless transactions were being promoted in every field in the country as well as the world and, hence, the legal field had also embraced the same. “The entire judicial proceedings in the current scenario and, particularly, in Delhi are online,” he remarked. He presented a shield to the winners along with a cash prize of Rs 15,000. Speaking at the event, Judge Neha Kushwaha, briefed on the activities of the District Legal Services Authority. She inspected the Legal Aid Centre of the College and described the various facets of legal assistance. She also provided comprehensive information on the “Hamdard Yojana” and the drive towards eradication of drug addiction. She also offered tips to the students regarding the judicial process. After a tough contest among the participants, the following were declared winners by the Judge: Winner – Deepsi Rawat and Team; Runners Up – Merylene and Team. Best Male Advocate – Yogi Choudhary; Best Female Advocate – Mansi Bisht; Best Witness – Samrendra Vikram; and Best Memorial – Rajat Gaur. Others present on the occasion included Dr Poonam Rawat, Kumar Ashutosh, Dr Anil Dixit, Dr LS Rawat, Dr JS Ojha, Dr Vijay Srivastava, Vaibhav Uniyal, Amit Kumar and hundreds of students.