Home Dehradun 1st Sushila Devi Memorial Inter-University Volleyball Tournament begins at U’chal Varsity

1st Sushila Devi Memorial Inter-University Volleyball Tournament begins at U’chal Varsity



Dehradun, 5 Nov: Uttaranchal University flagged off its 1st Sushila Devi Memorial Inter-University Volleyball Tournament in its campus, here, today. The mega event, which is to continue for three days, was inaugurated at the jam packed seminar hall with lighting of the ceremonial lamps followed by Kulgeet. The Chief Guest on the occasion was Shiva Chaudhary, a well known and renowned national Volley Ball player, while Vice Chancellor Prof NK Joshi, Director, IT Services of the University, Dr Abhishek Joshi were other distinguished guests on the occasion.
Chancellor Jitender Joshi welcomed Shiva Chaudhary with a bouquet of flowers and a shawl. Subsequently, he formally inaugurated the competition at the expansive university volleyball ground.
Principal and Dean of Law College, Dehradun, Prof (Dr) Rajesh Bahuguna, who is also Chairman of the organising committee, stated that about 32 teams from across the country are participating in the tournament. Players from prestigious universities and colleges of the country have joined the competition.
Chancellor Joshi expressed the commitment of the university to ensuring all-round development of the students. “Sports activities are an integral part of the university curriculum and such competitions provide a solid platform for grooming sports talent in the country,” he maintained.
Addressing the participants, Shiva Chaudhary said that participation of 31 renowned teams in the first tournament in Dehradun is unprecedented. She called for the Women Volleyball players to come forward and participate in state level tournaments. She offered to provide all possible assistance for grooming talented sports persons at the university.
Participating teams are from Maharaja Agrasen, Solan, Tula’s University, Dehradun, Graphic Era University, Dehradun, DBS, Selaqui, UPES, Dehradun, DBIT, Dehradun, Shivalik, Dehradun, Doon Institute, Dehradun, MIT, Rishikesh, Dolphin PG (I), Dehradun, Motherhood, Roorkee, SGRR Varsity, Dehradun, Jaspal Rana Institute, Dehradun, DAV (PG) College, Dehradun, Galgotia’s University, Greater Noida, GRD College, Dehradun, BFIT, Dehradun, THDC, Tehri Garhwal, Women’s Institute of Technology, Dehradun, PG College, Rishikesh, and MKP (PG), Dehradun.
Those present on the occasion were Vice Chancellor Prof NK Joshi, Dr Abhishek Joshi, Dr Rajesh Bahuguna, Dr JP Mishra, Dr Ajay Singh, Dr SK Shah, Dr Manish Mittal, Rajeev Kukreti, Volleyball Coach Bobby, Jayanti Ballabh Bhatt, Dr Poonam Rawat, Ashutosh Kumar and hundreds of participants and faculty members.