Home Dehradun 55th Death Anniversary of Pt Nehru observed 

55th Death Anniversary of Pt Nehru observed 

Dehradun, 27 May: Members of the Sanyukta Nagrik Sangathan, Swantantrata Senani Sangathan, Doon Residential Welfare Association, Dehradun Ex-Services League, NAPSR and many other organisations of the town assembled today at the Nehru Memorial, Haridwar Road, to pay homage on the 55th Death Anniversary of Pt Jawaharlal Nehru, the first Prime Minister of India.
Brig KG Behl (Retd), President, SNS, presided over the function and garlanded the statue of Pt Nehru, followed by all others present who paid floral tributes. Most of the members present highlighted various aspects of Pt Nehru’s work in various fields, which took the country to greater heights. The speakers included Dr Mahesh Bhandari, SP Chauhan, Bhadra Singh Negi, Jitendra Dandona, Yashvir Arya, Col BM Thapa, Dr BC Kandwal, Shobha Ram, Govardhan Prasad Sharma, Col BD Gambhir, MP Rawal, Mukesh Narayan Sharma, RK Bakshi, Harendra Singh Rawat, Suryadev Jugran, Mykesh Narayan Sharma, Upendra Bijalwan, Arif Khan and others.  Pradip Kukreti anchored the function.
Brig Behl said that Pt Jawaharlal Nehru laid the foundations of the greatest democracy of the world.
Two minutes of silence were observed to pay homage to the great leader.