Home Dehradun All India LIC Games 2018-19 begin in Doon

All India LIC Games 2018-19 begin in Doon



DEHRADUN, 3 Dec: The four day All India LIC Games began today at the Maharana Pratap Sports College, Raipur, here. The Chief Guest was B Venugopal, Managing Director, LIC of India, and inaugurated the sports championship. The opening ceremony witnessed a march past by the teams of eight zones of LIC, and the oath taking ceremony along with Uttarakhandi songs and dances. The games are being held in six disciplines – Athletics, Volleyball, Badminton, Carom, Chess and Table Tennis – for men and women. These 392 players (250 Men & 142 Women) of LIC have come from 112 divisional offices of 8 Zones. There are 4 National and 8 International players participating. International Players like World Carom Champion 2018 S Apoorva and Chess Grandmasters Sriram Jha, Anup Deshmukh, Swati Ghate, Dinesh Sharma, Badminton player Siddharth, and Table Tennis player Parag Agrarwal are taking part in the championship. Monika Athare, who got a medal in 5000 metres and 10,000 metres category in National Athletics, was also present. On the opening day, in triple jump women’s category, south central zone player Joyleen Morl Lobo and, in men’s category, west zone player Dheeram Mishra, won gold. In the 110 metres hurdle race, men’s category, south zone player KA Yogesh won the gold. In the 200 metre race, west zone player DL Jodge in men, and Anu Mariam, in women category from South Zone won gold today. In the indoor games, carom in women’s category, south central zone’s S Apoorva, Deepika Sinha from east Central Zone, Medha from west zone and P Nirmala from south central zone won their league matches. In men’s category, D Dileep Babu, south zone, Prakash Gaykwad, west zone, Zahir Ahmed, North Central zone, Surujuddin Ahmed, East Zone, AK Singh, North Central Zone won their league matches at the tournament. In Badminton matches, Prem Singh Chauhan from North zone defeated Jayant Talukdar from east zone, 21-10 and 21-8. In Volleyball, the South Central Zone team defeated East Central Zone by 25-7, 25-13, 25-17. North Zone scored 25-11, 25- 06 and 25- 20 against East Zone in the volleyball matches today. Present were Kiran Sahdev, Executive Director (HRD), KS Nagnyal, Executive Director, (CC), NP Sinha, Zonal Manager, North Central Zone, Kanpur, MR Shrama, Regional Manager (HRD), North Central Zone, Kanpur, PK Saxena, Sr Divisional Manager, Dehradun, were present at the venue.