Home Dehradun BJP Tehri, Pauri candidates file nominations with fanfare

BJP Tehri, Pauri candidates file nominations with fanfare


DEHRADUN, 22 Mar: BJP candidates Mala Rajyalakshmi Shah from the Tehri constituency and Teerath Singh Rawat from Pauri Garhwal took out processions here, today, as they went to file their nominations. Present on the occasion were Chief Minister TS Rawat and other leaders.
The CM claimed that, with the inspiration of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the BJP was set to win all five Lok Sabha seats in the state. He recounted the benefits to the people from the PM Awaas Yojana, Ujjwala Yojana, Ayushman Bharat and other welfare schemes.
Sitting MP Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ will file his nomination for the Haridwar seat, State BJP President Ajay Bhatt for Nainital and Union MoS Ajay Tamta for Almora, on the last day of nomination, 25 March.
According to Dr Devendra Bhasin, the CM will address election rallies on 23 March at various places in the Nainital LS constituency. He will also attend a meeting of the Lok Sabha Election Campaign Committee.
Others who filed their nominations for the Tehri seat today were CPI(M)’s Rajendra Purohit and independent Gopal Mani, a religious preacher. These will be scrutinised on 26 March. Another 12 aspirants also purchased nomination papers, today. These included Darshan Lal, Akhil Bhartiya Hindu Mahasabha; BD Raturi, UKD; Virendra Chauhan, INC; Ramvachan Ram, Hindustan Nirman Dal; Gopal Singh, Sarv Vikas Party; Umesh Khatri, Republican Party of India; Pritam Singh, INC; Anu Pant, Uttarakhand Democratic Party; Madhu Shah, Shiv Sena; along with Sardar Khan, Sandeep Dubey and Billu, as independents.