Home Dehradun Chargesheet filed against 6 in VPDO recruitment scam

Chargesheet filed against 6 in VPDO recruitment scam


By Arun Pratap Singh

Dehradun, 3 Jan: The STF has filed a chargesheet in the court against six more accused for rigging the VDO-VPDO recruitment 2016. It may be recalled that this examination was conducted by the Uttarakhand Subordinate Services Selection Commission (UKSSSC) in the year 2016. It is believed that the entire recruitment process had been manipulated by the accused. Even the OMR Sheets, which are basically the answer sheets of the candidates writing their examinations, were manipulated at the private residence of one of the senior officials from UKSSSC.  Among the main accused in the case includes IFS officer and the then Chairman of UKSSSC, RBS Rawat, who had retired as PCCF in the Forest Department.

A chargesheet running into over 4,000 pages was filed in the court today by the Special Task Force (STF), which conducted the investigation into the allegations of rigging. The chargesheet has been filed against 6 accused, namely RBS Rawat, the then secretary, Manohar Kanyal, Examination Controller RS Pokharia, and RMS company directors Rajesh Chauhan, Sanjeev Chauhan and Vipin Bihari. RMS was the company that printed the OMR sheets. It may be recalled that chargesheets against three of the accused were already filed before. Sources in the STF indicated that a chargesheet would soon also be filed against Hakam Singhm, Kendrapal and Chandan Manral in this and other related cases.

It may be recalled that the recruitment examination had been conducted in 2016 and ever since there had been allegations of rigging. Once the results were declared, the allegations had already become a major issue. However, around that time, the government changed and the allegations remained ignored till 2020, when a vigilance inquiry was ordered into the allegations. The vigilance inquiry proceeded very slowly and the case was finally transferred to STF on the orders of Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami in 2022.