Home Dehradun Graphic Era University holds Annual Research Award Ceremony

Graphic Era University holds Annual Research Award Ceremony



DEHRADUN, 6 Dec: “Good research requires dedication, hard work and foresightedness,’ said UCOST Director General, Dr Rajendra Dobhal, as the Chief Guest, while addressing delegates at the Annual Research Award Ceremony of Graphic Era University, here, today. A total of more than Rs 19.5 lakh prize money was awarded to the researchers present on the occasion.

As many as 95 research scholars were awarded during this ceremony. Chief Guest Dr Dobhal said that research is an extensive and continuous journey where a researcher’s dedication, hard work and foresightedness lead him/her to the goal. He further emphasised a healthy collaboration between industry and academics. He said that a researcher ought to have vision that is wide and extensive, leading them to new directions in the field of research.

Dr Dobhal felicitated Dr Sanjeev Kumar, winner of the World Championship 2018, who in the field of Environmental Science was awarded for his exemplary research work in the Natural Sciences. Dr Arunima Nayak was appreciated for her Marie Curie Fellowship in the field of ‘Volarisation of waste streams from agro food sector’. Dr Mangeram was awarded a cash prize of Rs 2.31 lakh for his research in the field of Application of Mathematics Principles in Engineering. Dr Varij Panwar was awarded Rs 1.08 lakh for his research in Nano Materials. Dr Padmanabh Thakur was awarded RS 88,000 for his research in the field of power quality.

Vice Chancellor, Graphic Era Deemed University, Dr Rakesh Kumar Sharma emphasised the quality of research and importance of peer review in order to enhance the quality of research paper publication and for nation building.

Dean, Research, Prof Dr Pravin Patil shed light on achievements of the university in the field of research. He mentioned that Graphic Era had 1896 Patents and Publications, Consultancy projects amounting to Rs 1,18,84,067, 39 student start-ups, 103 research scholars, 3223 Scopus citations, and cumulative impact factor of 255 (JCR Thomson Reuters ).

Pro Vice Chancellor Dr HN Nagaraja proposed the vote of thanks.

Chancellor Prof (Dr) RC Joshi, Director General Prof (Dr) VK Tiwari, and Heads of Department, Research Scholars and officials were present on the occasion. The event was anchored by Dr MP Singh and Sakshi Gupta.