Home Uttarakhand NITI Aayog team inspects AIIMS Rishikesh

NITI Aayog team inspects AIIMS Rishikesh



RISHIKESH, 19 Dec: A Niti Aayog team came here for a two-day visit to review the progress of AIIMS, Rishikesh. Niti Aayog has been sending teams to all new AIIMS that have been started in phase I under the ‘Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojna’. The team comprised three members under the leadership of Dr Prof VK Paul, who is a member of Niti Aayog. The team assessed the progress of AIIMS Rishikesh on various parameters. Director, AIIMS, Rishikesh, Prof Ravi Kant and his team gave a detailed presentation of the work and progress done by the institution in various fields of patient care, medical education, research, and public health. He also highlighted various changes made in the curriculum of medical education. Dr Paul and his team expressed satisfaction with the growth of AIIMS Rishikesh during the last three years under the leadership of its current director. Prof Ravi Kant sought a budget for another 300 postgraduate seats be sanctioned for AIIMS Rishikesh to address the shortage of specialists in India. The team also obtained a detailed report about the plan for the next 5 years. Director Kant also raised the issue of Quality Teaching prominently. He said that it was the Institute’s special endeavour to provide medical education in a new way. He said that the PG courses currently had 305 seats, which was insufficient. The increase by 300 seats would give better results. Dean, Academics, Professor Manoj Gupta presented the progress report of the AIIMS, department-wise, in addition to the basic requirements. The main focus of the team was on health services, research and education. It obtained detailed knowledge of the research and Ayushman Yojana carried out by AIIMS. The team included Professor VK Paul, President of Jodhpur, AIIMS, Professor Suresh Sharma and OSD, Col Kartikeya of NITI Aayog. The team also held separate meetings with administrative officers, faculty members and students of AIIMS in the evening. The meeting was attended by Dean, Academics, Professor Manoj Gupta, Dean, DSW, Professor Saurabh Varshney, Dean, Alumni, Professor Bina Ravi, Professor Pratima Gupta, Professor Shivparnaa Vasu, Professor Suresh Sharma, Medical Superintendent Professor Brahmaprakash and other HODs, and Administrative officers.