Home Dehradun 3-day Annual Fest, ‘Fyonli’, begins at Doon Varsity

3-day Annual Fest, ‘Fyonli’, begins at Doon Varsity



DEHRADUN, 21 Oct: Doon University began the celebration of its three-day Inter-Department Annual Fest, “Fyonli”, here, today. While inaugurating the event, Vice-Chancellor of the Doon University Dr CS Nautiyal said such events provided a platform for students to explore their talent and also provide the campus a more lively and vibrant environment. He said that the name of the Fest had been changed to “Fyonli”, which was “Bazm”, earlier, in order to promote the spirit of Uttarakhand’s tradition and culture. “Doon University and a fest like “Fyonli” is an effort to represent Uttarakhand’s culture,” he added. Narendra Lal (Assistant Registrar), Assistant Prof Dr Nitin Kumar (Coordinator, Cultural Committee) along with faculty members from different departments – Dr Madhu Bisht, Dr Vaishali Aswal, Chandrika Kumar, Jagriti Jaiswal, Piyashi Himani and Abhilasha Pant were among those present. The first day started off with competitions like Elocution, Photography, Rangoli Making, Duologue, Western Vocal (solo), Hindi Vocal (solo) and Duet Dance. Educationist Kanchan Seth, Dr Basanti Mahipal (Academician) and Renowned Photographer and Owner of Light and Shadows Studio Uma Shankar Bahuguna were the judges for the event. The inter-departmental fest of Doon University was started in 2015 and is now organised every year by its Cultural Committee with the motive of encouraging and discovering the talent of the students, and boosting their all- round development. The schools and departments of the university participate and compete against each other. The school with the highest number of positions and marks receives an overall trophy. Doon University was established by the Government of Uttarakhand through the Doon University Act, 2005 and recognized under 12 (B) of the UGC Act. The spirit of the Act is to create an autonomous and accountable institution of higher learning. It offers a full range of multidisciplinary academic programmes at the undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral level.