Home Dehradun 55 candidates in fray after 1 candidate withdraws nomination

55 candidates in fray after 1 candidate withdraws nomination

By Our Staff Reporter
Dehradun, 30 Mar: Additional Chief Electoral Officer Vijay Kumar Jogdande, addressed a press briefing at the Media Centre in the Secretariat here today. Jogdande informed that the process of nomination on all 5 seats in the state has been completed today. He shared that the time for withdrawal of nominations was fixed for 3 pm today. In all 56 nominations were found valid on the day of scrutiny on the 5 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state in respect of the Parliamentary Election underway in the country.
Jogdande informed that today, on the last day of withdrawal of candidature, only one candidate on Almora-Pithoragarh (SC) seat Arjun Kumar Dev has withdrawn his nomination. This leaves 55 candidates in fray on 5 Lok Sabha seats in the state. There are 11 candidates in the fray for Tehri seat, 13 for Pauri Garhwal, 7 for Almora, 10 for Nainital and 14 for Haridwar now.
The Additional Chief Electoral Officer said that as per the instructions of the Election Commission of India, publishing and broadcasting of exit poll results will be completely prohibited during the entire election process. He said that there will be a ban on publication and telecast of exit polls from 7 a.m on 19 April 19, 2024 to 6.30 pm on 1 June, 2024, when the polling will be completed on all the seats in the country. Jogdande asserted that all media houses will have to ensure compliance with these restrictions. Along with this, conducting opinion poll and publishing and broadcasting its results within the 48 hours before the end of voting will also remain completely prohibited.