Home Dehradun 97th Founder’s Day celebrations of RIMC conclude

97th Founder’s Day celebrations of RIMC conclude


DEHRADUN, 14 Mar: A large number of Rimcollians gathered on 13 March for the conclusion of the Founder’s Day celebrations at RIMC.
Air Chief Marshal BS Dhanoa, Chief of Air Staff, reviewed the parade and received the ‘Guard of Honour’ from the cadets of RIMC.
The ‘Rimcollins’ gathered around the War Memorial to pay homage to the fellow cadets who laid down their lives for the nation. Wreaths were laid by Air Chief Marshal Dhanoa and Gen VN Sharma (Retd), former Chief of Army Staff at the RIMC War Memorial.
Later, the day witnessed hectic activities. An Air Warriors’ Drill Team display was also organised. A 20-Twenty Cricket Match was organised between Old Boys and Cadets of RIMC. The present day Cadets won.
Later in the evening, at a glittering ceremony, Commandant, RIMC, Col Vivek Sharma made a presentation on the achievements of the school in 2018. Air Chief Marshal Dhanoa presented awards to meritorious cadets of RIMC and enjoyed the cultural extravaganza presented on the occasion. Cadets Anirudh Sudan bagged the Trophy for the ‘Best Sportsman of the Year 2018’. Chandragupata Section was declared the ‘Champion Section’ for the year 2018.
Some of the dignitaries present on the occasion were Gen VN Sharma (Retd), Vice Admiral Bimal Verma, Lt Gen Rakesh Nandan (Retd), Air Marshal PP Reddy (Retd), Vice Admiral PK Chatterjee (Retd), Lt Gen HS Sehgal (Retd), Lt Gen SS Dhillon (Retd), Lt Gen BS Pawar (Retd), Vice Admiral BS Randhawa (Retd), Lt Gen SS Grewal (Retd), Dr NM Ghatate, Maj Gen DA Chaturvedi, Air Marshal C Hari Kumar (Retd) and many more.
Air Chief Marshal Dhanoa, in his address to the audience, shared his nostalgia for the school and exhorted the cadets to carry forward the tradition of excellence.