Home Dehradun AC Deb Memorial Art & Literary Fiesta 2019 held at RRRA

AC Deb Memorial Art & Literary Fiesta 2019 held at RRRA



Dehradun, 5 Nov: A two-day AC Deb Memorial Art & Literary Fiesta 2019 was held at Raja Rammohan Roy Academy, in the memory of its founder, AC Deb. On 4 November, the school organised an Inter School Drawing and Painting Competition. An overwhelming response from schools all over Dehradun was observed.
In order to encourage maximum participation, the students of classes Nursery to XII were divided into seven categories. Everyone was spell bound to see the budding artists bringing out their latent creativity. The main thrust was towards stirring the imagination and providing a pedestal for innovation, exploration and aesthetics. The students’ artistic fair and their creations were judged by renowned artists Ranu Singh, Karna Puri and Paramvir Singh.
The winners were from St Patrick’s Academy, Shivalik International School, The Himalayan Public School, Touch Wood School and Doon Presidency School.
In continuation on 5 November, the AC Deb Memorial Inter School English Debate was organised. The event witnessed participation of students from various schools of Dehradun and Delhi, giving their views on the topic “The World is on the brink of Self Destruction”. A total of 20 students participated in the event. All the teams exhibited great oratorial skills. They put in tremendous effort to showcase their hidden talent. The debaters displayed confidence in presenting their arguments before the audience and a panel of eminent jury members, Poonam Jaiswal, Poonam Bakshi and Okesh Chhabra.
At the end of the heated but interesting debate which lasted over two hours, Touch Wood School was declared the best team and St Thomas’ College, the Runner Up team. In the individual performance, Tenzin Jangchup of Touchwood School bagged the Best Speaker Award and Vanshika Pradhan of the same school received the Runner Up Speaker Award. All participants were given a certificate of participation.
Chief Guest Arjit Banerjee motivated the audience with his inspirational words. Present were AK Deb, Director, Neena Deb, Indrani Lahiri, Ranjona Banerjee, Bina Varma, Principal, Bharti Vishnoi, Vice Principal, and Anju Bhalla, Headmistress.