Home Dehradun Ajay Rana elected U’chal Press Club President; Vikas Gusain is GS

Ajay Rana elected U’chal Press Club President; Vikas Gusain is GS

By Our Staff Reporter
Dehradun, 29 Dec: In a significant development, Ajay Rana, who contested as an independent candidate for the post of President of Uttaranchal Press Club for 2023, managed to defeat Bhupendra Kandari, who is a former President.  However, Vikas Gusain managed to win on the post of General Secretary from the panel of the Uttarakhand Journalists’ Union. Manish Chandra Bhatt won the election for the post of Treasurer. The results were announced by Election Officer Dr Devendra Bhasin and Assistant Election Officers Rajeev Uniyal and Kunwar Asthana, today.

Vikas Gusain

Ajay Rana got 131 votes, defeating Bhupendra Kandari, who got 123 votes for the post of presidentVikas Gusain got 192 votes and Sulochana Payal got 54 votes for the post of General Secretary. Meena Negi got 193 votes and Prabha Verma got 41 votes for the post of Joint Secretary (reserved for women). Rashmi Khatri was elected as Senior Vice President, Darban Singh as Junior Vice President, Rajeev Thapliyal as Joint Minister, Manish Chandra Bhatt as Treasurer and Manoj Jyada as Auditor.
Bhasin stated that elections were held on nine posts of member executive. Daya Shankar Pandey got 200 votes, Mangesh Kumar, 184 votes, Praveen Bahuguna, 178 votes, Laxmi Bisht, 166, Vinod Pundir, 166, Bhagwati Prasad Kukreti, 161, Balam Singh Topwal, 157, Ram Anuj, 157, Mohammed Faheem Tanha, 146 votes.
It may be recalled that, this year, the management of two leading dailies had restricted their employees from participating in the polls.