Home Dehradun Alumni join SJA Teachers’ Day celebrations

Alumni join SJA Teachers’ Day celebrations


By Our Staff Reporter 

Dehradun, 6 Sep: The Managing Committee of the SJA Alumni Association joined the school celebrations for Teachers’ Day, here today. The celebration commenced at 10.30 a.m. and the Association joined at 1.30 p.m.

On this special day, the Association played an innovative, improvised Tambola (in Hindi) to receive teachers’ blessings which completely enthralled the teachers. The teachers’ hearts swelled with pride when they looked at these students whom they had taught from their kindergarten days and now were honouring them and paying tribute.

The Association also arranged a lunch at the newly air-conditioned AV room for all the past and present teachers. The cake was baked by Alumnus Naman Raj Jolly and Mrs Ghosh. The teachers of yesteryears did the honours of cutting the cake.

“Because God made Teachers, we need a day to express our gratitude towards them, to take their blessings and together with them affirm our quest for knowledge,” said Dr Alok Jain, Vice President of the SJA Alumni Association, who was accompanied by other alumni members Praveen Chandhok (President), Abhinav Goyal (Treasurer), Rahul Singhal (Member), Pulkit Gupta (Member), Kamna Bagai (Member), Anurag Sangal, Rajeev Nangia, Randhir Arora, Navneet Oberoi, Ambuj Oberoi, Mohit Rajvanshi, Sachin Aggarwal, Tirupati Juneja and many more in paying tribute to their mentors.

Praveen Chandhok said the felicitation was held as ‘Teachers are the people who plant seeds in children’s hearts and minds, watering them with love and care every day until they blossom into beautiful flowers’.

The even had the support of Principal Brother Jeyaseelan S. Alka Mendiratta proposed the vote of thanks and appreciated the SJA Alumni Association’s role in honouring the mentors.

The retired teachers who attended included Mrs Ghosh, A Bhatia, Sunita Rekhi, Gloria David, Jayshree Bohra, A Mamgain, Kadambri Dobhal, Mrs & Mr David, and the entire school staff.