Home Dehradun Cleaning up Mussoorie is priority of Municipal Board: Anuj Gupta

Cleaning up Mussoorie is priority of Municipal Board: Anuj Gupta


Mussoorie, 31 Jan: At the monthly board meeting of the Mussoorie Municipal Council held, today, many proposals were passed unanimously. The municipal administration was seen particularly serious about the cleanliness of the town.
Members Aarti and Jasbeer Kaur expressed concern over the sanitation in the town, as they alleged that most of the workers after cleaning the area were throwing the waste along the roadside, due to which those areas were being polluted. Chairman Anuj Gupta, taking the cognisance of the complaint, instructed Health Officer Dr RK Singh to take strict action against such workers.
Addressing media persons, Chairman Anuj Gupta said that, soon, the municipality was going to increase the salary of sanitation employees from Rs 4,100 to Rs 8,200. He further said that the administration was serious about cleanliness of the town and, in the first phase, ward 1 to 9 would be dealt with. Tenders would be released soon by the municipality for catching monkeys in the town, as many cases of monkey bites had been reported. He added that, soon a 42-seater bus would be purchased by the municipality so that facilities could be provided to the people residing in Jhadipani and Barlowganj.
More than 70 CCTV cameras were going to be installed on two kilometres of the Mall Road so that all the major activities could be monitored. The main aim of the board was to develop Mussoorie by providing basic facilities to locals and tourists coming all over the world and, also, to make Mussoorie neat and green.
Health Officer Dr K Singh added that the mohalla committees would take a monthly fee of Rs 30 from each house for cleaning of the mohallas and disposal of the waste. He said that, if any employee or officer of the Health Department was found negligent, strict action would be taken.
Present on the occasion were Executive Engineer Ramesh Singh, Members Jasbir Kaur, Sarita Panwar, Sarita Devi, Aarti Agarwal, Geeta Kumai, Manisha Kharola, Pratap Panwar, Darshan Rawat, Kuldeep Rauthela, Nandlal, Sudhir Thapliyal, Jashoda Sharma, as well as officials and workers of the municipality.