Home Dehradun CM distributes cheques of compensation to project affected farmers

CM distributes cheques of compensation to project affected farmers

By Our Staff Reporter
Dehradun, 26 Aug: Chief Minister, Pushkar Singh Dhami distributed cheques of compensation for acquisition of land to the farmers affected by the project of laying power transmission lines of 220 KV lines of Vyassi Hydropower Project in Vinhar village of Pachhwa Doon and Jakhan.
Distribution of cheques was held at Chief Minister’s Camp Office on Saturday. On this occasion, cheques worth Rs 11.88 lakh were handed over to 17 farmers as compensation for land and trees.
All the farmers who received compensation thanked the Chief Minister for providing them timely compensation. He said that prompt arrangements were made by the administration to prevent loss of life and property due to heavy rains and landslides on 16  August and the affected persons were shifted to safer places. For this also the farmers thanked the Chief Minister.
Managing Director Power Transmission Corporation of Uttarakhand Ltd (PTCUL) PC Dhyani informed that on 16 August this year, due to landslides caused by heavy rains in Vinhar area and Jakhan, damage to one tower of the transmission line of the project occurred resulting in severe damage and the danger loomed large of excessive land erosion near the foundation of another transmission tower, As a result of the inspiration and guidance received from the Chief Minister, immediate on-site inspection was conducted by the officials, and they anchored the tower and took the necessary safety measures including shifting of the people and   terminating the power transmission from the tower that had inclined very much with the help of the local villagers.
Managing Director PTCUL informed that protective alternative arrangements are being made for evacuation of 120 MW power generated from Vyasi project by requisitioning ERS tower from Power Grid. It is likely to take 14-15 days to extract power from ERS tower. District Panchayat President Madhu Chauhan, Additional Chief Secretary Radha Raturi, Additional Secretary Dr Ahmed Iqbal were present on this occasion.