Home Dehradun Conclave on ‘Winds of Change in HR’ concludes at UPES

Conclave on ‘Winds of Change in HR’ concludes at UPES



DEHRADUN, 27 Sep: India’s top Human Resource experts assembled at UPES to attend the ‘HR Conclave 2019 – Winds of Change in HR’. The conclave was organised by the School of Business (SOB), UPES, at its Auditorium in the Kandoli Campus of the University. It concluded successfully with constructive participation of the corporate and academic professionals. The conclave aimed at providing a platform to the leaders from Industry and Academia to share the current knowledge and best practices in the sphere of ‘Entrepreneurial Mindset in HR’ and ‘Impact of Technological Disruption in HR’. Briefing the media, Arun Dhand, Sr Director, UPES, stated that the conclave witnessed the presence of the top HR professionals of the country which included Soumitro K Dutt, Group Chief Human Resource Officer (CHRO) – Ampersand Group; MVN Rao, Group Head HR – L & T Hydrocarbons Engineering Ltd; Chander Thapar, CHRO – Hiranandani; Baliram Mutagekar, Vice President HR – BNY Mellon Technology; Dr Rima Ghosh, former Vice President – HCM, Quinnox; Shrikrishna Bhave, HR Director – Forbes & Co; Deepak Deshpande, CHRO NetMagic, NTT Com, and H Ganapathy, CEO – Arm-India. The conclave was inaugurated by Pratibha and Harbir Singh, parents of ‘Nishant’ – a 3rd Semester MBA (Marketing) student at School of Business, UPES. Besides his academic achievements, Nishant is also an outstanding artist known for his excellence in drawing portraits and paintings. Addressing the gathering at the inaugural ceremony, Dr Githa Heggde, Dean, SOB, deliberated on common challenges and processes of technological disruption in Key HR Procedures & Operations. “Present day HR has undergone a dynamic shift in its role, functions and overall impact in shaping organisations. The need for digital transformation from operating in a traditional cocoon is leading to fossilisation and is no longer an option. The sooner this shift happens, the higher is the chance of survival,” she shared. The Dean also appreciated the presentations on the conclave themes by ‘BBA students Pratham, Shivali and Saksham and the MBA students Apoorva Chanana, Dipra K Majumdar and Akshay Anant. Motivating the students in his Conclave Keynote, Soumitro K Dutt said, “Don’t wait for the change to happen – lead it. The workplace is changing rapidly and a successful HR leader knows how to pursue opportunities aggressively and unfold the future.” Delivering his keynote address, H Ganapathy said, “Technology can never take the ‘Human’ out of ‘Human Resource’, however, tools like process automation and artificial intelligence are taking over the time- consuming administrative tasks and empowering recruiters to focus on people management.” A panel discussion on ‘Is Entrepreneurial Spirit a Mindset?’ with MVN Rao, Chander Thapar, Baliram Mutagekar and Dr Rima Ghosh as panelists was moderated by SOB students Pranay Tripathi (BBA-LM) and Snigdha (MBA-GM), wherein the stories on successes and failures of the corporate sectgor helped the audience to understand how to improve employee effectiveness and cultural inclusivity within organisations. The post-lunch panel discussion on ‘Does Technological Disruption have an impact on Human Resource Management?’ with Shrikrishna Bhave, Deepak Deshpande, H Ganapathy and Soumitro K Dutt as panelists was moderated by Ahsan (MBA-BA) and Bhawna (MBA-GM). The discussion deliberated upon how analytics had helped in tackling the problems of recruitment renegotiations, attrition, improving the efficacy of induction programmes and overall productivity in organisations. ‘Q&A Rounds’ followed the discussions that provided the participants & students with an opportunity to interact with the panelists and learn from their valuable inputs. The Valedictory Address was delivered by H Ganapathy. HOD – GM, SOB, Dr Sumeet Gupta, applauded the contributions of the Faculty Conveners Prof Anurag Sharma and Dr Ruchi Tyagi. The ‘Student Organising Team comprised Kushagra Lal, Angel, Sagar Singh Bisht, Shibin Kurian, Mihir, Shuktiz Bharti, Divya Bhatia, Shivani, Maitreye, Gaurang Chaturvedi, Devi U Nair and Tanish Shah. The ‘Vote of Thanks’ was proposed by Student Heads Ritika Sabhlok and Chirag Sharma from SOB, UPES.