Home Dehradun CS plans Republic Day programmes

CS plans Republic Day programmes


DEHRADUN, 9 Jan: A meeting was chaired by Chief Secretary Utpal Kumar Singh at Secretariat here, today, to chalk out programmes for Republic Day celebrations. It was decided at the meeting to illuminate all the government buildings on 25 and 26 January from 6 to 11 p.m. It was instructed that low voltage bulbs/LEDs be used, and the participation of the Municipal Corporation, Mussoorie-Dehradun Development Authority (MDDA), traders’ associations and local non-government organisations ensured.
It was decided at the meeting that the Information Department would play patriotic songs at all important road intersections on loudspeakers from 6 to 9 p.m. on 25 January and from 6 till 11 a.m. on 26 January. The flag hoisting ceremony at the Secretariat, district headquarters, departmental head offices and administrative officers would be done on 26 January at 9.30 a.m.
A ‘Kavi Sammelan’ will be organised at the Town Hall by the culture department on the eve of Republic Day. RK Sudhanshu, Secretary to the Governor, said a cultural programme would be part of the programme to be held at the Raj Bhawan on the occasion.
The main programme to be held at the Parade Ground will start at 10.30 a.m. and the Governor will be the Chief Guest. The barricading, beautification and other infrastructural work at the Parade Ground will be coordinated by the District Magistrate and SSP, Dehradun, Chief Executive Officer, Municipal Corporation, and Chief Engineer, PWD, Dehradun.
The Chief Secretary will hold talks for display of acrobatics by aircrafts of the Indian Air Force (IAF) above the Parade Ground during the ceremony.
Contingents of the Army, ITBP, Police, PAC, Home Guards, PRD, NCC, NSS, ex-servicemen and scouts & guides will participate in the parade on the occasion. The parade will be led by an officer of the Indian Army and Army and PAC bands will play. The CRPF will also be asked to participate. The contingents standing first, second and third at the parade will be awarded by a committee headed by the Principal Secretary, Home, with members from the Army, Police and ITBP. The best tableau will be adjudged by Principal Secretary/Secretary Information for award of first, second and third prizes.
The students of government schools will present cultural programmes soon after the conclusion of the parade and the tableaus of department will be showcased. The District Magistrate will soon call a meeting to discuss the themes of the tableaus with the departments concerned at a coordination meeting. A brief cultural programme will be organised after the presentation of the tableaus. The selection of the cultural troupes will be done by Secretary, Culture, in coordination with District Magistrate, Dehradun, and Director, Culture /Education departments. Dilip Jawalkar, Secretary, Information, conducted the meeting. DGP (Law and Order) Ashok Kumar, Commandant, ITBP, Ashok Kumar Gupta, Secretary to the Governor, RK Sudhanshu, Garhwal Commissioner Shailesh Bagoli, Additional Secretary, Energy, Capt Alok Shekhar Tiwari, Director, Sports, Pratap Singh Shah, Secretary Bhupal Singh Manral, District Magistrate SA Murugesan, SSP Nivedita Kukreti, Joint Secretary, Information, Sanjay Tolia and other officers were present at the meeting.