Home Dehradun IPSC Squash Tournament begins at RIMC

IPSC Squash Tournament begins at RIMC



DEHRADUN, 9 Jul: A spectacular Opening Ceremony of the IPSC Squash Championship was held at the Thimayya Auditorium of RIMC here, today, amidst a heavy downpour. A total of 15 schools with around 149 students from different schools of India are participating in the individual as well as in the team events. In the jam packed Thimayya Auditorium of RIMC, the team Captains of fifteen schools, carrying their school flags, took oath of professional conduct in the tournament. Col Vivek Sharma, Commandant, RIMC, was the Chief Guest on the occasion and administered the oath to the Captains of the contesting teams. Eminent and top ranked players of India too conveyed their good wishes to participants through video presentations. Col Vivek Sharma extended a hearty welcome to the players and the coaches and described the evolution of the standard of Squash at RIMC. Almost 17 matches were played today in three different categories by 5 p.m. Some of the important matches of each category were: In the U-12 category, Janshir Grewal of YPS, Patiala , won against Divyuam Upadhyay of Raj Kumar College, Raipur by 2-1, while Yukt Jajoo of Daly College, Indore , won against Shourya Sahay of Welham Boys by 2- 0. In the U-14 category Arnav Dutta of Assam Valley School, won against Adhiraj Jain of Emerald School, Indore. Shourya Singhla of Lawrence School, Sanawar, defeated Arnav Suman of RIMC by 2-1. In the U-19 category, Cdt C Veeresh of RIMC won against Kushal Sureka of Assam Valley School by 2-1. Hemant Kumar of Lawrence School won against Kushal of LKS, Gotan, by 2-0. The tournament will continue till 13 August, when the tournament will come to an end with a formal Closing Ceremony.