Home Mussoorie Political, social organisations oppose eviction for ropeway in Mussoorie

Political, social organisations oppose eviction for ropeway in Mussoorie



Mussoorie, 11 Dec: Political and social organisations, along with members of all 80 families residing in Shifan Court, protested against the action planned to evict them after 31 December. The affected families with members of political and social organisations reached the Martyrs’ Memorial, here, and staged a dharna against the ‘injustice’ being inflicted on the poor families by the administration and the government. They also raised slogans against the government.
The members of all the affected families said they would not vacate their houses at Shifan Court without being relocated. Those supporting them said that, if action was taken to remove these people, the Mussoorie Winter Line Carnival – to be held from 25 to 30 December – would be opposed.
Purukul resident and Congress leader Upendra Thapli said that, if the government did not relocate the 80 families, he would not allow pillars for the Mussoorie Purkul Ropeway to be installed on his land at Purukul Village.
Former municipal president Manmohan Singh Mall said that during his tenure, a proposal was sent to the government to relocate the 80 families but nothing had been done. He said the BJP government was talking about giving a house, each, to all the poor families of the country by 2022, while the houses of poor people were being taken away in Mussoorie. This revealed the difference between the BJP’s words and actions.
Municipal Chairman Anuj Gupta said that the Mussoorie Municipality had nothing to do with Shifan Court. It had been given to the Department of Tourism six years ago. He declared the municipalities support for the evictees.
Devi Godiyal and Kedar Singh Chauhan said that the government was oppressing the workers and the poor. They said that without rehabilitation of affected families the demolition would be strongly opposed.
Among those present on the occasion were OP Uniyal, Gambhir Singh Panwar, Soban Singh Panwar, Balambat Singh Negi, Ranjit Singh Chauhan, Jaipal Singh Panwar, Pradeep Bhandari, Pratap Panwar, Darshan Rawat, Soban Singh, Kuldeep Rawat, Sudhir Doval, Jagpal Gusain, Suraj Kumar and many others.