Home Dehradun Prime duty to exercise right to vote: Gurmit Singh

Prime duty to exercise right to vote: Gurmit Singh


Gov honours first time voters with badges

By Our Staff Reporter

Dehradun, 25 Jan: On the occasion of 13th National Voters’ Day, Governor Lt General Gurmit Singh (Retd) honoured first-time voters by giving them voter badges and photo identity cards. On this occasion, he also honoured two election icons of the state, Padma Shri awardee Kalyan Singh Rawat ‘Maiti’ and Padma Shri awardee Pritam Bharatwan for creating awareness among the voters. This function was held at the Raj Bhawan auditorium here today.

The Governor also honoured the officers and employees who did commendable work in the areas of election management in the Assembly Elections held last year and during the Special Brief Revision Programme 2023 of the voter lists. The Governor released the calendar prepared by the Chief Electoral Officer’s office on the occasion. The Governor also administered the voter’s oath to all those present.

On this occasion, the voters’ song ‘Main Bharat Hoon’ prepared by the Election Commission was also released before the Governor.

The Governor, while congratulating the youth on becoming voters for the first time, said that by exercising their right to vote, they ought to become partners in the development of the country and the state. He said that the election process had a major role in the functioning of the vibrant democracy. Conscious voters were the basis of the success of any election process. He said it was very important to have conscious voters and 100 percent participation in their elections. This was not only the duty but also a responsibility of all the citizens. He appealed to the youth to actively participate in voting in all the elections.

The Governor said it was necessary to elect honest, hardworking, efficient public representatives for the development of the country and the state. For the success of this work, it is necessary to have a strong election system and an aware voter. He said that in order to strengthen democracy, it is also necessary for everyone to participate in 100 percent voting. It is necessary for the voters to have complete knowledge of the election process. For this, awareness programmes are run by the Election Commission from time to time. He said that along with encouraging new voters to register, it is necessary to tell them the importance of exercising their franchise.

On the occasion of Voters’ Day, Secretary, Elections, Dilip Jawalkar apprised the people present about the brief outline of the National Voters’ Day programme. He said that this year’s theme by the Election Commission is ‘Nothing like Voting, I vote for Sure’. The Secretary said that on the occasion of National Voters’ Day, programmes had been organised in each district and block level. On this occasion, State Election Commissioner Chandrashekhar Bhatt, Chief Electoral Officer C Ravi Shankar, Additional Secretary to Governor Swati Bhadauria, Joint Chief Electoral Officer Pratap Singh Shah, State Nodal Officer, SVEEP, Mohammed Aslam, and other officers and employees associated with the Election Department were present.

The list of officers and employees to be honoured on the occasion of National Voters Day included  DIG, Law and Order, P Renuka Devi, District Magistrate, Tehri Garhwal, Saurabh Gaharwar, District Magistrate, Uttarkashi, Abhishek Ruhela, District Magistrate, Bageshwar, Anuradha Pal, Additional District Magistrate, Uttarkashi, Tirath Pal Singh, ADM, Bageshwar, Chandra Singh Imlal, SDM, Jaspur, Seema Vishwakarma, SDM, Purola, Jitendra Kumar, SDM, Sitarganj, Tushar Saini, SDM, Gadarpur, Rakesh Chandra Tiwari, SDM, Bhatwadi, Chatar Singh Chauhan, SDM, Kichha, Kostubh Mishra, SDM, Dhanaulti, Laxmi Raj Chauhan, Tehsildar, Jaspur, Punam Pant, Tehsildar, Purola, Sheeshpal Singh Aswal, Tehsildar, Sitarganj, Jagmohan Tripathi, Tehsildar, Gadarpur, Devendra Singh Bisht, Tehsildar, Bhatwadi, Suresh Chandra Bhatri, Tehsildar, Nainbagh, Sakshi Upadhyay, Tehsildar, Kandisaun, Kishan Singh Manhat and Tehsildar, Joshiyada, Suresh Prasad Semwal.