Home Uttarakhand Raghav Kalra is Overall Winner in “Governor’s Golf Club Tournament”

Raghav Kalra is Overall Winner in “Governor’s Golf Club Tournament”


By Our Staff Reporter 

Nainital, 9 June: The three-day “Governor’s Cup Golf Tournament-2024”, organised by the Raj Bhawan Golf Club, Nainital, from 7 June concluded on Sunday.

As many as 123 golfers from different parts of the country participated in this tournament. In the prize distribution programme organised at the Raj Bhavan, here, First Lady Gurmeet Kaur, Secretary, Governor / Senior Vice President, Raj Bhavan Golf Club, Ravinath Raman and Additional Secretary Governor and Vice President, Raj Bhavan Golf Club, Swati S Bhadoria awarded the winners and runners-up in various categories.

Raghav Kalra was the Overall Winner / Champion of the 19th Governor’s Cup Golf Tournament. Amit Kumar Suryavanshi was declared the runner-up in the tournament. Best net winner was Veer Srivastava and runner-up was Lt Col RS Bankoti.

Colonel SC Gupta was the winner in the Super Veteran Gross category in the tournament, and SK Suri was the winner in the Super Veteran Runner Best Net. Neelakshi was the winner in the women’s category and Ruchi Srivastava was the runner-up. Narottam Das was the winner in the Veteran Gross category. Ajay Kumar Verma was the winner in the Veteran Net category. Amyra Bajaj got the title of Most Promising Golfer. In the junior category of the competition, Aarav Sandhu was the winner and Shrey Shah was the runner-up in the 15-17 age group. Tejas Pratap Singh was the winner and Karan Singh was the runner-up in the (12-15) age group. In the under 12 years age group, Nashya S Sinha was declared winner and Vijayendra S Tomar was declared runner-up.

At the prize distribution program, Secretary to the Governor Ravinath Raman congratulated the winning golfers. He said that all the participants displayed sportsmanship in this competition. Ravinath Raman added that, in accordance with the vision of the Governor, in the last few years, efforts have been made to connect the Raj Bhavan Golf Course with the general public as much as possible. The Raj Bhavan Golf Course is also being made available to school children. He expressed happiness over the increasing interest of women and youth in golf.

Secretary, Golf Club, Amit Srivastava thanked all the sponsors and participating players associated with this event. The prize distribution programme was conducted by Finance Controller Dr Tripti Srivastava.

On this occasion, Commissioner, Kumaon Division, Deepak Rawat, DIG Yogendra Rawat, District Magistrate, Almora, Vineet Tomar, SSP, Nainital, PN Meena, Golf Captain Colonel Vivek Bhatt (Retd), Rajendra Chauhan, Sachin Chamoli, Ved Prakash Mohar, along with golfers and their families were also present.

Winner Best Gross Raghav Kalra, Runner Best Gross Amit Kuma Suryavanshi, Winner Best Net Vir Srivastava, Runner Best Net Lt Col RS Bankoti, Veteran Golfer Gross Winner Narottam Das, Veteran Golfer Net Winner Ajay Kumar Verma, Junior Golfer below 12 yrs Winner Naashya S Sinha, Junior Golfer below 12 yrs Runner Vijitendra S Tomar, Junior Golfer 12-15yrs 12-17 yrs Winner Tejas Pratap Singh, Junior Golfer 12-15yrs Runner Karan Singh, Junior Golfer 15-17yrs Winner Aarav Sandhu, Junior Golfer 15-18 yrs runner Shrey Shah, Ladies Golfer – Winner Neelakshi, Ladies Golfer – Runner Ruchie Srivastava, Super Veteran – Gross Winner Col SC Gupta, Super Veteran – Runner Best Net SK Suri, Most Promising Player Amaira Bajaj, Youngest Golfer Neil Shankar Shah, Winner – Longest straight Drive Samarth Jain, Winner – Nearest to Pin Purnima Vir, Winner – Maximum Birdies Col Jay Prakash Joshi and Winner – Maximum Pars Shankar Dutt Pandey.