Home Dehradun SBS University Annual Athletics Meet witnesses tough contests

SBS University Annual Athletics Meet witnesses tough contests


DEHRADUN, 27 Feb: Sardar Bhagwan Singh University Annual Athletics Meet began on 25 February and will continue till 5 March. The event was inaugurated on 25 February with the torch lighting ceremony by Sardarni Harinder Pal Kaur (wife of Founder Director), Chancellor SP Singh, Secretary (GBSS) Dr Gaurav Deep Singh and Vice Chancellor Prof AK Sharma.
In his inaugural speech, Prof AK Sharma welcomed the gathering and said that sports helped in development of mental and physical strength in students. This was followed by the oath taking ceremony. The competition between the four houses of the University (Ajit, Fateh, Jujhar and Zorawar) was declared open by Sardarni Harinder Pal Kaur. The events included field and track events.
The first prize winners in various sports events are as follows: Long Jump (Boys): Harsh Chaudhary; Long Jump (Girls): Shalini Lakhwar; 1500m race (Boys): Mohd Subhi; 400m race (Girls): Aarti; Discus Throw (Boys): Mohit Bisht; Discus Throw (Girls): Bhawna; Shot Put (Boys): Gurdeep; Shot Put (Girls): Rekha; Javelin Throw (Girls): Bhawna; Javelin Throw (Boys): Vipin Negi; Triple Jump (Boys): Harsh Chaudhary.
Present on the occasion were Registrar Kishan Rawat, COE Urmi Chaurasia, Dean (Academics) Prof FC Garg, Dean (Student Welfare) Prof Manish Arora, Dean (R&D) Prof GS Randhawa, Prof Veerma Ram (Director, Pharma Science), Manager (Administration) Zorawar Singh, all HODs, faculty and students.
The closing ceremony of the Annual Athletics Meet will be held on 5 March.

Previous articleHPS salutes IAF
Next articleShifting Sands