Home Dehradun SBS University celebrates 25th Annual Day

SBS University celebrates 25th Annual Day



Dehradun, 17 Nov: On the occasion of ‘Rajatotsav’, SBS University celebrated its 25th Annual Day here, today, in a grand manner. Present at the Celebrations was Rekha Sharma, Chairperson, National Commission for Women, as Chief Guest.
The programme was inaugurated by the Chief Guest with lighting of the lamp. Also present were Sardarni Harinder Pal Kaur (wife of the late Founder Director, Sardar Gurcharan Singh), SP Singh (Chancellor), Dr Gaurav Deep Singh (Secretary, GBSS) and Prof AK Sharma (Vice-Chancellor).
The Vice-Chancellor extended a warm welcome to the gathering and presented the Annual Report of the University. Later, academic awards were distributed to the meritorious students of the passed out batches of all the courses by the Chief Guest.
Vaibhav Maurya (BMLT 3rd Year) was awarded the Certificate of Excellence for NCC Republic Day Camp Parade. The certificates of appreciation for extra-curricular activities were also given to Deepanshu Bansal, Shubham Navin Thakur, Archana Chaudhary (B Pharm, 4th year), Aditi Battu (B Pharm, 3rd year), Swarnima Naithani, Mitali Dua, Gurvinder Singh, Novleen Kaur (BPT, 4th year) and P Pandimeena Servai (BPT, 3rd year) for their overall achievements in various fields. Twelve Gold and Thirteen Silver medals were given for academic excellence in different disciplines.
The chief guest addressed the gathering and congratulated the students on their achievements. The cultural programme started with the Saraswati Vandana, which was followed by melodious songs presented by the University Choir. Later, a play was presented by the students of the Dramatic Society on the issue of Nepotism. Garhwali and Bhangra dances were presented by the students. The highlight of the evening was the theme dance to “Sanchit Srijan”.
Present on the occasion were Krishan Rawat (Registrar), Prof FC Garg (Dean, Academics), Dr Luvkush (Academic Advisor), Prof Maneesh Arora (Dean, Students Welfare), Prof Veerma Ram (Director, School of Pharm. Sci. & Tech.), Urmi Chaurasia (Controller of Examination), Zorawar Singh (Manager) and Heads of the Departments. Events were coordinated by Capt Nalini Mehrishi, Dr Barkha Kamal (Convener, Cultural and Music Club), Dr Shradha Bisht (Convener, Dramatics Society) and Dr Vikas Jadon. The annual day celebration was attended by the faculty, staff, students, parents, guests and media persons. The vote of thanks was proposed by Mitali Babulkar (University Captain).