Home Dehradun 1st Sushila Devi Memorial Volleyball Tournament concludes at Uttaranchal University

1st Sushila Devi Memorial Volleyball Tournament concludes at Uttaranchal University



DEHRADUN, 7 Nov: The First Sushila Devi Memorial Volleyball Tournament organised by Uttaranchal University ended today with much fanfare. International volleyball players Lalit Kumar and Ratish Nayar were the special guests on the occasion. Chairman of the tournament, Dr Rajesh Bahuguna stated that the three day tournament was participated in by 26 teams from reputed Indian Universities and Colleges and included around 252 players. Four pools were constituted in the male category while two were in the female category. In the female category, Uttaranchal University and DAV (PG) College reached the finals, while Uttaranchal University, Dehradun, and Maharaja Agrasen College, Solan, clashed in the final round in the male category. It is noteworthy to point out that Maharaja Agrasen College, (HP) and Uttaranchal University are renowned volleyball teams of North India. In the male category, Maharaja Agrasen College (HP) defeated Uttaranchal University, 2-0, while DAV (PG) College, Dehradun, won the final round defeating Uttaranchal University, also by 2-0, in a close contest. In the male category, Mohd. Shahnawaz and Kriti Thapa from DAV (PG) College, Dehradun, were declared as best male and female players, respectively. At the same time, Shubham from Graphic Era University and Manshi Bisht from Uttaranchal University were declared as best male and female defenders. Also, Suraj from Uttaranchal University and Sheetal from DAV (PG) College, Dehradun, were adjudged best male and female tacklers. Chancellor Jitendra Joshi rewarded the winners with a cash prize of Rs 50,000 and a shield. On the occasion, international volleyball players Ratish Nayar and Lalit Kumar gave their spirited accolades to the players. They maintained that there should be a separate sports quota in every University of Uttarakhand. They observed that upcoming national games in the state would infuse new spirit and energy among the players and would prove to be a milestone in the sporting world. Those present on the occasion were Dr Abhishek Joshi, Rajeev Kukreti, Jagdish Joshi, Dr Poonam Rawat, Jayanti Prasad Bhatt, Dr Sushim Shukla, Pawan Dabral, Sunil Maithani, Prince Kumar, Prateek Uniyal and hundreds of students and faculty members.