Home Dehradun SRHU, Indian Society of Anesthesiologists hold Sports Meet

SRHU, Indian Society of Anesthesiologists hold Sports Meet


By Our Staff Reporter 

Dehradun, 20 Feb: The Indian Society of Anesthesiologists, Uttarakhand State Chapter, in association with Department of Anesthesiology, HIMS, Swami Rama Himalayan University, organised the First ISA Uttarakhand State Annual Sports Meet for anaesthetists and their families from Uttarakhand.

This event was also included in the Y20 banner, the (Youth engagement wing of G20) which is coordinated by AIIMS Rishikesh.

According to Dr Parul Jindal, President, ISA, Uttarakhand, this event was planned as pressures and stresses of modern life can take a toll on young people such as the community of doctors, specially anaesthesiologists and critical care teams. Sports can help them cope with these challenges. By promoting sports, mental health and wellbeing would be improved by providing an outlet for stress and anxiety.

Dr Vijay Tyagi, Secretary, Dr SP Gautam, Treasurer, and more than 120 members enjoyed this event with their families.

Dr Veena Asthana, Head of Department, stressed on the importance of physical activities.

The Chief Guest at the event was Pro Vice Chancellor Dr V Chauhan. He noted that sports bring people together, promoting social cohesion and fostering community spirit. By participating in sports, young people would develop relationships, share experiences and build lasting friendships.

Dean of the College Dr Deorari congratulated the entire congregation and encouraged them to do their best.

The occasion had representation from all the medical colleges in the state.

Dr Gurjeet Khurana, Dr Robina Makker, Dr Divya, Dr Mridul Dhar, Dr Ashutosh Singh, Dr Mandar and Dr Dupinder coordinated various events.

Various sports like Cricket, Chess, Badminton, Races and Tug-of-War were held.

AIIMS Rishikesh won the Trophy for Best Team. The Cricket match was also won by AIIMS Rishikesh.

Dr Dupinder was declared Man of the Series.

Srinagar Medical College, captained by their Head of Anesthesia Department, Dr Ajai Vikram, emerged the winning team.