Home Feature Big B leads ensemble of 50 singers & 115 artistes in Song...

Big B leads ensemble of 50 singers & 115 artistes in Song of Hope conceptualised by Doon’s Varun Gupta



Song of Hope in Times of Pandemic

DEHRADUN, 1 May: In a mammoth initiative, as many as 50 singers and 115 artistes have joined hands to spread the message of unity as one nation.
Titled ‘Guzar Jayega’ or ‘This too shall pass’, the song has been presented, conceptualised, curated and produced by Doonite Varun Gupta.
Calling it his labour of love, Varun states that this is a song that is in the nature of a humble effort to showcase the collective might of personalities who promise to stand shoulder to shoulder with the people of India and the world in the face of the pandemic.
“It is in the nature of prayer sent out to the universal force to keep the world safe and sound and strong, to withstand any calamity,” he underlines.
“We are fortunate to have the blessings of the mega star of the millennium, Amitabh Bacchan, for this project. So many of India’s incredible and legendary artistes have all come on board for this message of Hope,” he adds.
The formal release of the song has been delayed due to the death of the film industry’s two stalwarts, Rishi Kapoor and Irrfan Khan. Once released, the song is all set to break Michael Jackson’s record of 44 artistes.
Varun revealed that well known personalities from films, music and sports have all sung their lines in the safety of their homes and sent in their recordings. “The idea dawned on me during the lockdown period and when I shared it with my filmmaker friend, Jai Verma, he readily agreed to pitch in.
A few top names associated with the project apart from Amitabh Bachchan are Ekta Kapoor, Kapil Sharma, Sonu Nigam, Shreya Ghosal, Kailash Kher, Shaan, Javed Ali, Jyoti Nooran, Akhil Sachdeva, Hans Raj Hans, Babul Supriyo, Jyoti Nooran, Richa Sharma, Jaspinder Narula and Anup Jalota.
Sports Personalities associated with the project are Sania Mirza, Vijendra Singh, Sushil Kumar, Deepa Mallik, Anjum Chora, Abhinav Bindra, Mahesh Bhupati, Bhaichung Bhutia, Sunil Chettri, Leander Paes apart from others.
The music composer of the song is Jazim Sharma.