Home Dehradun Homage paid to Lt Gen OP Kaushik by DESL

Homage paid to Lt Gen OP Kaushik by DESL



DEHRADUN, 5 Dec: A large number of veterans assembled at the DESL office on 3 December with Lt Gen GS Negi, Chief Patron, Dehradun Ex-Services League (DESL), in the chair to pay homage to the late Lt Gen OP Kaushik, who died on 30 November at RR Hospital, New Delhi. He was cremated at Brar Square, New Delhi, on 1 December. According to Col BM Thapa, Senior Vice President, DESL, Lt Gen Kaushik had gone to Delhi to attend a function at the Rajputana Rifles, from where he was evacuated to RR Hospital due to sudden ill-health. He breathed his last during the treatment. Gen Kaushik initially hailed from Jajjar in Haryana but for last four decades lived in Vijay Colony, Dehradun. He rendered 37 years of meritorious service to the Army, having got commissioned in 1959. He played a major role in solving major problems of J&K terrorism, Mizoram and Nagaland. He was instructor at the OTS Madras and Staff College. He remained instructor in the British Infantry School for four years. He was military advisor at the British High Commission for four years. He was a highly learned person having great interest in writing and reading books. He was Chairman of UPNL, and he looked after the welfare of veteran and Veer Narees very well. He believed in rehabilitation of the veterans. His son and grandson also serve in the Indian Army. His daughter, Yashika Kaushik, is Principal in one of the schools in New Delhi. Many serving and retired officers participated in the cremation of Gen Kaushik. Tarun Vijay, former MP, Rajya Sabha, also attended the cremation along with UPNL Staff. Gen Kaushik always participated in all activities of Ex-Servicemen and helped retired veterans in all respects. During the prayer meeting, Lt Gen GS Negi mentioned that he had opportunity to serve with him, twice, and he was an outstanding officer in all respects. Others who spoke very highly of Gen Kaushik were Brig KG Behl, Col US Thakur President, DESL, Col BM Thapa, Senior Vice President, DESL, Col B Shahi, Treasurer, Col BD Gambhir, Col SC Thapliyal, Capts N Kumar, A Limbu, Sub B Thakur and many others.