Home Dehradun UPES signs fresh MOUs with IAF

UPES signs fresh MOUs with IAF


DEHRADUN, 25 Feb: UPES signed two Memorandums of Understanding (MOUs) with the Indian Air Force at its Bidholi Campus, here, today. While the first MOU will facilitate enrollment of Air Force Officers into PhD programmes at UPES, the second will enable them to undertake MBA programmes offered by UPES Centre for Continuing Education (CCE). The Indian Air Force (IAF) was represented by Air Vice Marshal LN Sharma, while Dr. Veena Dutta, Registrar, UPES, represented the university. Wing Commander VK Bandhu accompanied the Air Vice Marshal.
According to Arun Dhand, Senior Director, Public Affairs, UPES’s association with the Indian Air Force dates back to 2014. While appreciating UPES for arranging the event at very short notice, Air Vice Marshal Sharma urged the University to encourage its students to choose careers in the Air Force and other arms of the defence forces. Welcoming them, Dr Jitendra Kumar Pandey, Associate Dean – R&D, shared that the IAF and UPES had jointly collaborated to offer part-time PhD programmes to the serving IAF Officers with the inking of these MOUs. As many as 17 IAF officers were currently pursuing their PhDs from UPES. The MOU has empowered, both, IAF & UPES to undertake research activities, research projects, and training programmes jointly as per the expertise and logistics available with both. The second MOU enables the serving Air Force Officers and Airmen to upgrade their academic qualifications with MBA programmes offered by UPES through its Centre for Continuing Education (CCE) while still being in service.
Dr Raju Ganesh Sunder, Professor & Head – Academic Unit, CCE, shared that UPES CCE had been at the forefront of designing and offering programmes of immense benefit to the defence forces personnel aspiring for a civilian career post retirement. “Today, CCE offers distance learning programmes on Aviation Management, Logistics & Supply Chain, Health Safety & Environment, and Project Management for these officers,” he said.
Also present were Dr Kamal Bansal, Dean – Academic Development & Innovation; Dr Suresh Kumar, Dean, SOE; Dr Amitabh Bhattacharya, Controller of Examinations; Dr Ajit Nigam; Rakhi Ruhal, Assistant Director – PhD programmes and many other officials of the University.