Home Dehradun Valedictory Function of SEFCO-2019 held at IIP

Valedictory Function of SEFCO-2019 held at IIP

Dehradun, 12 May: The Valedictory Function of SEFCO-2019 was held on Saturday at CSIR-IIP, here. Dr Rajendra Dobhal, Director General, Uttarakhand State Council for Science and Technology (UCOST) was the Chief Guest, and Dr SSV Rama Kumar, Director, IOCL-R&D, was the Guest of Honour. They were welcomed by IIP Director Dr Anjan Ray.
Dr Rajendra Dobhal talked about the societal aspects connected with the energy and technology sector. How the small steps at individual level could deplete the energy resources by matching the requirements of current energy demands. For example, the wastage of electricity during charging of phones and laptops for hours together; using private vehicles for even short distances; using air conditioner in abundance which led to global warming. He also said people should strive for improvements at the individual level when it comes to consumption of energy resources.
Dr SSV Rama Kumar delivered his lecture on ‘Sustainable Energy Option: Indian Scenario. He also spoke about the alternative trends in the field of oils, fuels and lubricants, and the fuel economy. He mentioned the easiest ways to jump from EURO-4 to EURO-6 emission standards of engines. He also described how first generation fuel derived from agricultural waste and second generation fuels derived from cellulose and hemi cellulose and lignin served as good alternatives to conventionally used mineral derived fuels.
In SEFCO-2019, under the Jigyasa Programme, a model exhibition for KV students was also organised.
In this category, the first prize was awarded to Ashlesha Dhanayan and Jahnvi Bhardwaj from KV FRI for their model, “Gesture control wheel chair for patients of hemiplegia”.
Ambika Batra from KV FRI won the second prize for her model on “Turning tunnel into giant batteries”. The third prize was given to Arush Singh Chauhan of KV IIP for his model on “Smoke initiated electricity generator”.
In oral presentation, the first prize was given to Dr Sunita Singh of Reliance Industry, and the second prize to Saudagar Dongra from Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology, Patiala.
In the poster display session, R Sandeep from Central University of Rajasthan won the first prize, second prize was given to Neha Bansal of CSIR-IIP and the third prize was given to Surabhi Agarwal from CSIR-CSMCRI, Bhavnagar. In this category, the consolation prize was given to Ritika Garg from Banasthali Vidyapeeth.
The vote of thanks delivered by Dr Anjan Ray. The programme was conducted by Neha Sharma, JRF of CSIR-IIP. Also present were Amit Kumar, Convener, Dr Deepti, Scientist Coordinator, Jyoti Gahtori, Raj Kumar Yadav, Bijoy Biswas, Tripti Sharma, Ekta Faujdar and Arfin Imam.