Home Dehradun BJP State President Mahendra Bhatt sworn in as Rajya Sabha MP

BJP State President Mahendra Bhatt sworn in as Rajya Sabha MP


By Arun Pratap Singh

New Delhi/Dehradun, 25 Apr: Uttarakhand BJP President Mahendra Bhatt took oath as Rajya Sabha MP in New Delhi today along with two other MPs from other states.

Vice President and Rajya Sabha Chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar administered the oath to the newly elected MPs.

Bhatt has been elected Rajya Sabha MP unopposed from Uttarakhand. It may be recalled that he had filed his nomination papers on 15 February this year but was elected unopposed in view of the big majority that BJP has in the state assembly.

Dhankhar administered the oath to the elected Members of Rajya Sabha in Parliament House today. Those sworn in as Rajya Sabha members today are Mahendra Bhatt, Devendra Pratap Singh and Tejveer Singh.

Newly sworn in Rajya Sabha MP Mahendra Bhatt expressed gratitude to the top leadership of BJP, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP National President JP Nadda and Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami. Mahendra Bhatt is also currently the state president of the BJP in Uttarakhand. In the Rajya Sabha, Bhatt replaces Anil Baluni who has completed his term of 6 years as a Rajya Sabha MP.

BJP had surprised everyone by announcing the name of Mahendra Bhatt as BJP candidate for the Rajya Sabha from Uttarakhand, which was falling vacant due to completion of term by outgoing MP Anil Baluni, who is also the BJP’s National Media In charge. Bhatt’s election as MP has catapulted him in the league of top BJP leaders from Uttarakhand.

Mahendra Bhatt is a two time former BJP MLA from Badrinath assembly constituency in district Chamoli. He was elected for the first time as MLA in 2002 from Nandprayag assembly constituency, but lost the election in 2007 (from the Nandprayag seat). He was again given a party ticket from Badrinath in 2017 and got elected. However, he lost again in the 2022 assembly election. Despite this loss, he continued to be in the good books of the party leadership and was appointed BJP state President in 2022.

Uttarakhand has 5 Lok Sabha constituencies and 3 Rajya Sabha seats. His predecessor Anil Baluni is now contesting the Lok Sabha election from Garhwal (Pauri) seat and belongs to Kotdwar in district Pauri. He is awaiting the results of the parliamentary elections due to be declared on 4 June.