Home Dehradun Doon School holds Farewell Assembly for 2019 batch

Doon School holds Farewell Assembly for 2019 batch


DEHRADUN, 2 Mar: The Farewell Assembly is a graduation ceremony in which The Doon School bids farewell to the passing out 12th graders along with giving out some awards in various categories. The Chairman of the Board of Governors, Sunil Munjal, along with the members of the board, Kishor Lahiri, Ishat Hussain, Arvind Nigam and Ravi Bulchandani were present. The DSOBS (Doon School Old Boys’ Society) President, Rahul Kohli, was also present, having conducted an induction programme earlier in the day for the batch of 2019 to the Old Boys’ fraternity.
The assembly started with the Headmaster, Matthew Raggett, addressing the school followed by the new School Captain, Nandil Sarma. He talked about the passing out batch, batch of 2019 and their life in school. Nandil implicitly mentioned humorous incidents in their life along with speaking about their achievements in school, how this batch has maintained individuality throughout their 6 years in school.
Nandil’s speech was followed by Sunil Munjal on the podium. He talked about the school being the foundation of the boys and as they pass out, people had expectations of them. He mentioned that they should give back to society, being privileged and also be grateful to their parents and guardians for the sacrifices they had made for them.
The school’s choir and orchestra performed two short songs and thereafter the announcement and distribution of prizes commenced. Some of the notable awards included Junior General Proficiency award for Mayank Agarwal and Senior General Proficiency award for Kanishkh Kanodia. School Colours were awarded to Amal Bansode, Devang Laddha, Kanishkh Kanodia, Ranvijay Singh, Viksit Verma and Yash Dewan.
The evening concluded with the school school choir and orchestra singing Auld Lang Syne as the batch of 2019 went up to the stage to shake hands with the Headmaster, Chairman of the Board of Governors and school captains to exit the gates of Chandbagh, once and for all.