Home Dehradun Electricity reaches Ghes Village after 70 years

Electricity reaches Ghes Village after 70 years


Dehradun, 25 Nov: Sunday was an historic day for Ghes Village. Seventy years after independence, electricity reached this frontier village in Chamoli district, today. Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat switched on the electricity at a function organised on the occasion. He also instructed the District Magistrate, Chamoli, to prepare a DPR for planned development of Ghes, Himni and Balan villages to increase the income of the local people. At the request of the Chief Minister, Union Ayush Minister Sripad Nayak approved, in principle, the opening of a ‘National Jadi Booti Sansthan’ in the area.
A ‘Kutki Jadi Booti Mahotsav’ was also organised for conservation, preservation and marketing of natural herbs in Ghes village of Deval Block.
Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat and Union Ayush Minister Sripad Nayak participated in the Kutki Mahotsav. Discussions were held on preparing a policy for production, conservation and marketing of Kutki so that farmers involved in its production could be benefitted.
The Chief Minister also issued instructions on starting organic farming certification in the area. Income of the farmers from bamboo and hemp could be increased manifold. He said that permission had been granted to use electricity poles for laying optical fiber. Mukesh Ambani had promised to provide free WiFi in hospitals and schools of Uttarakhand.
Union Ayush Minister Sripad Nayak said that his ministry would provide all support in encouraging herb production.
Vivek Dewan of Doongiri Foundation revealed that the National Medicinal Plant Board had started a website, “E-Charak”, for farmers involved in herb cultivation. Dr Harpal Negi disclosed that a workers’ cooperative had been formed for Kutki cultivators of Ghes.
Local legislator Munni Devi Shah, Block Pramukh Deval Urmila Bisht, newly elected Nagar Panchayat Pramukh Deepa Bharti, Pradhan, Ghes, Narendra Bisht, aeronautical engineer from USA, Prashant Dijagar, scientist Vijay Kant Purohit, Dr Anil Kumar, Arjun Singh Bisht, Mahila Mangal Dal Chief Jashoda Devi and Nandi Devi, DM Swati Bhadauria, SP Tripti Bhatt, CDO Hansa Dutt Pandey and other officials and local people were present on the occasion.