Home Uttarakhand G20 Delegates accorded warm welcome on arrival at Rudrapur

G20 Delegates accorded warm welcome on arrival at Rudrapur


By Our Staff Reporter

Rudrapur/Pantnagar, 28 Mar: A total of 51 delegates from 17 countries reached Pantnagar airport at 1:30 p.m. today to participate in the meeting of Chief Scientific Advisors to be held in Ramnagar (District Nainital) as part of the G-20 conference. The delegation was accorded a warm welcome on arrival at Pantnagar and Rudrapur by the top officials, led by Kumaon Commissioner Deepak Rawat.

Of the total number of delegates, 18 are from India, 4 from Russia, 1 from Nigeria, 2 from France, 2 from Italy, 2 from USA, 1 from Korea, 5 from United Kingdom, 1 from Japan, 1 from Spain, 4 from South Africa, 1 from Australia, 1 from Netherlands, 2 from Canada, 3 from Saudi Arabia, 1 from Brazil and 2 from China. Three members of the European Union have also reached Ramnagar.

Divisional Commissioner Deepak Rawat, IG Nilesh Anand Bharne and District Magistrate, Udham Singh Nagar, Yugal Kishore Pant welcomed the guests on their arrival at Pantnagar Airport. After this, a cultural team of artists in Kumaoni costumes accorded a traditional welcome to the guests by applying Tilak, who put on Pahari Topi, Patkas and Tulsi Malas. All the delegates looked overwhelmed and happy with the traditions. While enjoying the hill culture based Chholia dance and programme, the guests continued to click these moments on their mobiles and cameras and some were seen even taking selfies. Some delegates also could not resist the charm of the Kumaoni music and danced to the tunes of the folk music.

To acquaint the delegates with local products, an exhibition was organised by the district administration, in which various types of local products were displayed.

The luncheon for the delegates was arranged at the local Hotel Radiance Blu, in which a variety of dishes including Pahari and local cuisine were arranged. The delegates left for Ramnagar at 3:30 p.m.

Divisional Commissioner Deepak Rawat, IG Nilesh Anand Bharne, District Magistrate Yugal Kishore Pant, SSP Manjunath TC, Chief Development Officer Vishal Mishra, Trainee IAS officer Anamika, Managing Director Mandi Ashish Bhatgai, Additional District Magistrate Jai Bharat Singh, Deputy District Magistrate Pratyush Singh, Tushar Saini, Kaustubh Mishra were among those present.