Home Dehradun NLU Patna lifts National Moot Court Trophy at Law College Dehradun

NLU Patna lifts National Moot Court Trophy at Law College Dehradun



DEHRADUN, 6 Oct: Chanakya National Law University, Patna, won the Fourth National Moot Court Competition 2019, today, organised under the aegis of the Moot Court Society of Law College Dehradun, Uttaranchal University. The Chief Guest on the occasion was Justice BP Singh, formerly of the Supreme Court of India. The other judges of the prestigious Moot Court Competition were Justice VK Shali, former Judge, High Court of Delhi, and Vivek Narayan Sharma, Advocate-on-Record and Joint Secretary, Supreme Court Advocate-on-Record Association. Principal and Dean of Law College Dehradun, Prof (Dr) Rajesh Bahuguna disclosed that, out of 32 teams, the Chanakya National Law University, Patna, and GH Raiswamy University, Nagpur, reached the finals. After a tough legal contest, CNLU, Patna, eventually lifted the trophy. The contestants splendidly demonstrated their legal acumen and analytical-cum- argumentative traits, soliciting applause from the Judges as well as distinguished intelligentsia present in the seminar hall. Dr Bahuguna further maintained that the National Moot Court Competition 2019 had set new paradigms for future moot court competitions. In the course of different stages of the competition, issues like litigation, question of dissolution of Hindu marriage after conversion or renunciation, availability of fundamental rights to stateless persons, principles of human rights versus personal laws of international nature were extensively discussed through the simulated court proceedings. In the valedictory address, Justice BP Singh offered valuable tips to the budding lawyers. He advised the students to respect their elders and work hard in tandem with time, energy and inclination. “Brevity is an essential pre-requisite for a successful lawyer and faith, confidence and courageousness would be the key to your success,” he observed. “Do not learn what to do but learn what not to do,” he further maintained. He advised the prospective lawyers to maintain their dignity in the courts. Speaking in the same vein, Justice VK Shali cautioned the students that hard work hasd no substitute. He said that honesty, sincerity and hard-work awere the three essentials of realising one’s dreams. Analysing the performance of participants, he advised that lucid presentation of facts along with latest judgements was indispensable in court pleadings. Vivek Narayan Sharma expressed the need to recognizse deficiencies in Moot Court Competitions. “Vision, Strategy and Preparation are three essentials for practicing lawyers,” he maintained. CNLU Patna was adjudged winner of the competition, while GH Raiswamy University, Nagpur, was declared as the runners- up. Runners-up teams received a trophy and cash prizes of Rs 25000 and Rs 15000, respectively. Symbiosis Law School, Hyderabad, received the award for Best Memorial, while Campus Law Centre, University of Delhi, got the award for Best Researcher, while Pranav Kumar Kaushal of Bahra University, Shimla, and Swaroopini Srinath of Govt Law College, Mumbai, were declared as best male and female advocates, respectively. The vote of thanks was proposed by Dr Poonam Rawat, Chairperson of Moot Court Society, Law College Dehradun. Those present on the occasion were Vice Chancellor Prof NK Joshi, Dr Rajesh Bahuguna, Dr Poonam Rawat, Anjum Parvez, Dr Anil Dixit, Dr LS Rawat, Dr Vijay Srivastava, Ujjwal Kumar Singh, Ramakant Tripathi, Vaibhav Uniyal and hundreds of students.