Home Dehradun Ranjit House wins Asian School Athletics Meet

Ranjit House wins Asian School Athletics Meet



DEHRADUN, 6 Dec: The 20th Annual Inter House Athletics Meet of The Asian School, which was declared open on 2 December ended today. The Chief Guest at the closing ceremony was Ashok Kumar Negi, DIG (Operations), ITBP, Seemadwar. The Inter House Athletics Meet was spread over a period of 5 days. It witnessed enthusiastic participation by students of the four houses in different track and field events. Ranjit House won the coveted Championship Trophy. In athletics, Arjun House won the overall Championship Trophy. Khushi Bajaj (Ashoka House) was declared the Best Athlete (Girls) and Ayush Ahmed (Ashoka House) was declared the Best Athlete (Boys) for the year 2019 – 2020. The athletics events began with 100 metre Hurdles (Boys) which was won by Varan Sanga (Ranjit House) and 4×100 metre Relay (Girls) above 14 – the first position was bagged by Arjun House. In 4x 400 metres relay (Boys), first position was won by Ranjit House. In 1500 metres run (Boys) above 14, the first position was bagged by Ayush Ahmed of Ashoka House. In the march past, Shivaji House won the first position. In the gymnastics display, the boys showed perfect movements and dare devilry. The dives through the fire ring were spectacular. The Tug of War between Parents and Teachers was won by the Parents. The ITBP Brass Band guided the impressive and well synchronised march past. DIG Ashok Kumar Negi gave away the trophies to the winners. He advised the children to continue to work hard and make sports a part of their lives, as it would help them stay disciplined and inspired. The Meet was declared close by the Chief Guest and the flag was lowered to the trumpeters’ last post and handed over to the Director of Sports, Sardar Swaran Singh, by Principal AK Das. The Vote of Thanks was proposed by Head Boy Kipa Yullo. The Meet came to an end with the final March Past by the four Houses. Among those present were School President, Amarjeet Singh Juneja, Vice President Madanjeet Singh Juneja, Principal AK Das, Director Gaganjyot Juneja, Vice Principal Anant VD Thapliyal, Head, Middle School, Mukesh Nangia, Head Mistress Kalpana Grover, Geeta Das and the entire teaching staff and students of The Asian School.