Home Dehradun SBS University celebrates Annual Day

SBS University celebrates Annual Day


Dehradun, 16 Nov: Sardar Bhagwan Singh University, Balawala, is celebrating its 24th Annual Day on 16 and 17 November with fun and gaiety. The “SBS Utsav” began with inauguration of the Inter-House competition, “Saptrang” (rangoli, mehndi, card making, face painting, poster making, collage making and best out of waste), Nature Club events (floral rangoli, flower decoration, garland making and bouquet making) and photographic exhibition, by Sardarni Harinder Pal Kaur, accompanied by Vice-Chancellor Prof AK Sharma, Advisor (Academics) Prof FC Garg and Heads of Departments. Students participated in Saptrang and Nature Club events with great enthusiasm. A photographic exhibition was also held in which the photographs taken by the students and the faculty were showcased. Further, adding to the fun, a rocking musical performance was presented by the University band which enthralled the Campus.

The meritorious students of University were awarded certificates and scholarships for their academic achievements by Sardarni Harinder Pal Kaur, Chairman SP Singh, Managing Secretary Dr Gaurav Deep Singh and Vice-Chancellor Prof AK Sharma. The winners of Saptrang, Nature Club events as well as the winners of photography competition were given certificates and cash prizes. The first prize winners in various categories were – Saptrang Competition: Card Making – Shubham Baliyan; Collage Making – Shruti Rawat; Best out of waste- Tripti Gurung; Mehndi – Shreya Gupta; Face Painting – Avantika Punera; Rangoli – Shalini Lekhwal and Aditi Mehta; and Poster – Kanika Khanna.

Winners in the Nature Club Competition were – Bouquet Making: Shaily Rastogi; Flower Decoration: Shreya Bisht; Floral Rangoli – Divya & Anushka; Garland Making – Chandrakala & Swarnima. Winners in the Photography Competition were:  Wildlife – Shubham Omer; Nature- Abhishek Shandelya; Portrait – Navdeep Joshi; Random – Shivani Bisht.

Present on the occasion were Dr Luv Kush (Advisor, Academics), Prof GS Randhawa, Zorawar Singh (Manager), Krishan Rawat (Dy Director, HR & Liaison), Urmi Chaurasia (COE), all Heads of Departments, faculty, staff and students.