Home Dehradun AMU wins National Debate at SBS University

AMU wins National Debate at SBS University

Dehradun, 16 Apr: The two-day Sardar Gurcharan Singh Memorial 12th National Debate Competition concluded at Sardar Bhagwan Singh University, here, today. The topic of the National Debate was “Mobile Technologies and Social Media are helping communities grow in a socially productive way”.  A total of 44 teams from various Universities and Institutes around the country participated in the debate competition. Various Competitions (including Rangoli, Essay Writing, Poster, Philately and Photography) for School Students were also held in which more than 100 students took part.
Prof AS Brar, ex-Vice Chancellor (Lucknow University and Guru Nanak Dev University) was the Chief Guest and Krishna Khurana (Retired English Lecturer, PCNSM College, Dehradun) was the Guest of Honour. Rajeev Nayan Bahuguna, co-founder of Chipko Movement, was also present on the occasion as a guest. Prizes to the winners and certificates to all the participates were distributed by the Chief Guest, Guest of Honour, Chancellor SP Singh, Secretary (GBSS) Dr GD Singh and Vice Chancellor Prof AK Sharma.
The Best Team was that of Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh (Mansi Singh and Shwatany Sharma). The winners in the Hindi Category were: 1st prize (Yashee Singh, Doon University), 2nd prize (Vikas Kumar Singh, MMH College, Ghaziabad). The winners in English Category were: 1st prize (Aashutosh Srivastava, Doon University), 2nd prize (Akansha, MMDU, Ambala).
The winners of school level competitions were: Rangoli (Akansha, Presidency International School), Painting (Deepika, SGRR Public School, Balawala), Poster (Somesh, Glacier Public School), Philately-Coin (Snehal Chaurasia, Doon International School), Philately-FDC & Stamp (Mohd Usman), Photography (Vinayak), Essay Writing- English (Christina, Presidency International School), Essay Writing- Hindi (Shailesh). The winners of the Philately competition for SBS University students were: Coin (Meenaskshi Joshi) FDC and Stamp (Deepanshu, Riddhi & Ujjwal).
The vote of thanks was proposed by Convener (Debating Society) Dr Santosh Karn. Present on the occasion were Registrar Krishan Rawat, COE Urmi Chaurasia, Dean (Academics) Prof FC Garg, Dean (Student Welfare) Prof Manish Arora, Dean (R&D) Prof GS Randhawa, Academic Advisor Dr Luv Kush, Prof Veerma Ram (Director, Pharm. Science), Manager (Administration) Zorawar Singh, HODs, faculty, staff and students.