Home Sports Athurwala FC wins Shahid Memorial Football Tournament

Athurwala FC wins Shahid Memorial Football Tournament


DEHRADUN, 11 Jan: The Uttarakhand Football Referee Association and Shahid Shri Rajesh Negi Memorial Football Committee organised the ‘Uttarakhand Andolankari Shahid Shri Rajesh Negi Memorial Football Championship 2019’ from 3 to 10 January.
The venue was the ‘Rajkiya Inter College, Kothi Athurwala, Bhaniyawala. As many as 16 teams participated from Dehradun District.
The Final Match was played between Dehradun Football Academy (DFA) and Athurwala Football Club. Athurwala won following a tie-breaker, 8-7, after neither team could score in regulation time.
Athurwala scorers were Rohit, Sahil, Sumit, Nikhil, Anju, Pradeep, Gaurav and Arvind, while DFA scorers were Surendra, Amit, Eric, Albert, Ladu, Rahul and Monis.
The Chief Guest on the occasion was Congress leader Hira Singh Bist, who gave away the awards to the winning and runners up teams.
Athurwala FC received Rs 15,000, the trophy, while Dehradun Football Academy received Rs 11,000, and a trophy.
DFA player Eric received the Best Player of the Tournament (Golden Boot) Award, with RS 2100 in cash and a trophy. DFA’s Monish was declared the Best Goalkeeper of the Tournament, receiving RS 2100 and a trophy. The Upcoming Players Under-12 were DFA’s Ladu and Rahul, receiving Rs 1100. Katar Singh Negi, Vikram Rawat, Ashish Bijalwan, Manoj Chamoli, Sanjay Chamoli, etc., were present on the occasion.
UFRA match officials included Match Commissioner Dilbar Singh Bisht, referees Surendra Payal, Amit Kant, Aman Jakhmola, Pramod Negi, Vimal Singh, Pravin Rawat and Kingshuk.
DFA Head Coach VS Rawat appreciated the performance of the teams.