Home Dehradun Mahendra Bhatt files nomination for Rajya Sabha, to be declared elected unopposed

Mahendra Bhatt files nomination for Rajya Sabha, to be declared elected unopposed


By Arun Pratap Singh

Dehradun, 15 Feb: With the process of the Rajya Sabha election having begun, the BJP candidate and currently the State President of the BJP, Mahendra Bhatt, today filed his nomination from the lone vacant RS seat from Uttarakhand. The seat is falling vacant in April and the polling is scheduled to be held on 27 February.

But, since today was the last date for filing nomination and no other candidate has done so, no polling is likely to be held for the election and Bhatt will be declared elected unopposed.

It may be recalled that BJP has a brute majority in a house of 70 MLAs and, therefore, even if Congress, the main opposition, or any other party or candidate would have filed nomination, the victory of Mahendra Bhatt would still have been a foregone conclusion.

The Congress State Vice President, Mathura Dutt Joshi, today had made it clear that Congress would not field any candidate for the Rajya Sabha election since the numbers did not favour it.

Mahendra Bhatt filed his nomination before the Returning Officer in the Assembly building. Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami and BJP National General Secretary and leader in charge of the party affairs in Uttarakhand, Dushyant Gautam were also present during his nomination.

Bhatt will be replacing outgoing Rajya Sabha MP Anil Baluni in the Rajya Sabha, whose term will end in April this year.

Bhatt submitted his nomination application in 4 sets before the Election Officer at 11 a.m. On this occasion, Chief Minister Dhami expressed his gratitude to the central leadership of the BJP and to Prime Minister Narendra Modi for giving an opportunity to a ‘hardworking, sincere, disciplined and popular worker’ like Mahendra Bhatt who has risen from the grassroots to the level of Rajya Sabha MP. Describing Bhatt’s representation as an honour for every worker, Dhami expressed the hope that Bhatt would contribute towards further strengthening the coordination between the Centre and the State and will also become the voice of the local people in the Upper House.

After filing his nomination, Bhatt spoke to the media persons present on this occasion and stated that he would try his best to live up to the trust that the entire central leadership, including PM Modi, National President JP Nadda, CM Dhami, have placed on him.

He also praised the work done by outgoing MP Anil Balnui as a Rajya Sabha MP and said that Baluni had contributed a lot towards raising issues of the hills and the state in the House and for promoting local development and products. Bhatt claimed that he would work to take it forward. His priority will be to establish even better coordination between the Centre and the state and bring as many projects and schemes as possible for development. Development plans, especially in the mountains, need to be implemented at a fast pace and the general public can avail benefits up to the border areas.

Also speaking to the media persons, the outgoing Rajya Sabha MP, Anil Baluni, said that Bhatt’s journey from a booth level party worker to state president is exemplary. By choosing Bhatt as his successor, the party leadership has created new enthusiasm and joy among all the hardworking and capable workers. He expressed confidence that Bhatt will make a very significant contribution in the Rajya Sabha for regional development and as a representative of the sentiments of the local people.

On this occasion, Haridwar MP Dr Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’, Pauri MP Tirath Singh Rawat, Tehri MP Mala Rajya Laxmi Shah, Almora MP Ajay Tamta, Rajya Sabha MP Kalpana Saini, State General Secretary, Organisation, Ajaey Kumar, Cabinet Ministers Satpal Maharaj, Ganesh Joshi, Dhan Singh Rawat, Rekha Arya and Subodh Uniyal, as well as Party General Secretary Aditya Kothari,  MLAs Vinod Chamoli, Khajan Das, Pradeep Batra, Durgeshwar Lal and many other MLAs, State Treasurer Puneet Mittal and State Media In charge of BJP, Manveer Chauhan, were among those present.