Home Dehradun UPES team wins ‘2nd Position’ at All India ‘Solidworks xDesign Challenge’

UPES team wins ‘2nd Position’ at All India ‘Solidworks xDesign Challenge’



Dehradun, 25 Jul: A six-member student team, ‘Aavishkaar’ from the ‘UPES School of Engineering’ won laurels by ranking ‘Second’ at the All India Solidworks xDesign Challenge organised by Dassault Systemes, India. Dassault Systèmes is a software company headquartered in Vélizy-Villacoublay, France that develops 3D Design, 3D Digital mock-up, and Product Lifecycle Management software globally. The theme of the competition was to propose a design for ‘The future of Urban Mobility for India’.
According to Arun Dhand, Sr Director, Public Affairs, UPES, stated that the competition was the first ever design challenge using SOLIDWORK xDesign for students across India. The competition witnessed enthusiastic participation by over 1600 students as part of 249 teams from the most prestigious colleges of the country – NITs, BITS Pilani, SRM Institute of Science & Technology, ITM University – Gwalior, Chandigarh Engineering College, Sastra Deemed University – Tamil Nadu, Christ Faculty of Engineering – Bengaluru, Fr C Rodrigues Institute of Teachnology – Navi Mumbai, Bannari Amman Institute of Technology – Coimbatore, Veermata Jijajbai Technological Institute – Mumbai, Punjab Engineering College – Chandigarh, Dayananda Sagar College of Engineering – Bengaluru, etc., competing for the top positions. “With its 1.3 million people, India’s ever-growing population places it as the second most populous country in the world. Traffic jams are one of the major cause for concern for its 65% working population. The xDesign India Challenge was for the teams to design a new public transportation system representing the future of Urban Mobility for India. UPES is proud of its student team for securing second position in this national competition,” said Dhand.
The ‘1st Position’ at the event was claimed by ‘Team Raw’ from the St Francis Institute of Technology – Navi Mumbai; “Team Aavishkaar’ from UPES, Dehradun, bagged the ‘2nd Position’, with ‘Team Turbocharger’ from the Lokmanya Tilak College of Engineering, Navi Mumbai, won the ‘3rd Position’. All the top three winners received prize money of Rs 2 Lakhs, each. Besides the prize money, every member of the team also received a gift voucher of $ 100 each to access the learning content of three certifications of the cloud-based platform.
Congratulating the winning team members on their achievement, Dr (Prof) Ajay Kumar, Head of Department – Mechanical Engineering, UPES, also applauded Dr Deepak Kumar – Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering for his sincere efforts in mentoring the team and for his continuous support and motivation at all levels.
The members of ‘Team Aaviskaar’ comprised Aditya Kumar – Automotive Design Engineering as the ‘Team Leader’ and Ayush Chaturvedi – Automotive Design Engineering; Vanshika Katyal – Aerospace Engineering; Aishwerya Singh Gahlot – Aerospace & Avionics Engineering & Ayush Gupta – Aerospace & Avionics, all from 4th Year and Prabudh Sanket from Automotive Design Engineering 3rd Year as members. The team members, ‘Mentor’ Dr. Deepak Kumar and their HOD – Dr. Ajay Kumar were complimented by Dr. Deependra Jha – Vice Chancellor and Dr. Kamal Bansal – Dean, School of Engineering, UPES for their grand accomplishment.