Home Dehradun Voting for vacant Rajya Sabha seat in U’khand on 27 Feb

Voting for vacant Rajya Sabha seat in U’khand on 27 Feb


By Arun Pratap Singh

Dehradun, 30 Jan: Voting for the one Rajya Sabha seat in Uttarakhand which is falling vacant in April this year will be held on 27 February. It is worth noting that the seat will fall vacant in April when the incumbent MP, Anil Baluni, will complete his six-year tenure. Baluni is at present not only one of the three BJP Rajya Sabha MPs from Uttarakhand, but also holds a crucial post as BJP’s National Media In charge.

The Office of the Chief Electoral Officer will issue a notification on 8 February. Chief Electoral Officer Dr V Shanmugam stated that nominations for the Rajya Sabha election will be received till 15 February. Scrutiny will take place on 16 February. There will be an opportunity to withdraw nominations on 20 February. Voting will be held in the Assembly on 27 February from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. while the counting of votes will take place from 5 p.m. onwards.

Although the Modi Government usually avoids repeating the same candidates in the Rajya Sabha, some notable exceptions have been made from time to time. Many Union Ministers have been given a second term in the Rajya Sabha by Modi while some of the ministers had to go because they were not repeated by the BJP leadership as Rajya Sabha candidates in the past 10 years. From Uttarakhand, the Modi Government has not so far repeated its Rajya Sabha candidates and all of them have had to retire.

It remains to be seen if Anil Baluni will be repeated by the party as its Rajya Sabha candidate. Baluni is considered very close to Union Home Minister Amit Shah and also enjoys the trust of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Sources in the party claim that in case Anil Baluni is not repeated by the party, he may be asked to contest the upcoming Lok Sabha election from Pauri. Currently, former Chief Minister Tirath Singh Rawat is the MP from Pauri Lok Sabha constituency and, apart from him, former Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat is also stated to be lobbying for the party ticket from here. Others in the race include Shaurya Doval, son of National Security Advisor Ajit Doval.